Hear Refused’s Murderously Funky New Song ‘Françafrique’

Refused are preparing to unleash their first album in 17 years, Freedom, upon the world, and the Swedish hardcore heroes are offering fans another taste of what the new LP has to offer via the brand new track, Françafrique.

The schizophrenic tune teams sometimes chunky and sometimes funky riffage with all-out-assault vocals with a children’s choir angelically singing lyrics such as, “Exterminate the brutes. Exterminate all the brutes”, and “Murder, Murder, Murder, Murder”.

The rebellious and politically-charged track, which is presumably about France’s relationship with its former African colonies, will be featured on the long, long, long awaited follow-up to Refused’s seminal The Shape Of Punk To Come.

The fresh new slab of Refused tune-age, which was led by their first new track in 17 years, Elektra, has been slated for release on June 30th.

Freedom was produced by Nick Launay (Arcade Fire, Kate Bush, Nick Cave), with the exception of Elektra and Track 8 on the LP, 366, which were both helmed and co-written by Swedish pop super-producer Shellback, whose CV includes Taylor Swift, Britney Spears and P!nk.

Refused are also angling for an Australian tour early next year, making them a hot pick for Soundwave 2016.

Listen: Refused – Françafrique

Gallery: Refused @ The Palace, Melbourne 2012 / Photos By Anwar Rizk

Freedom Track Listing:

1. Elektra
2. Old Friends / New War
3. Dawkins Christ
4. Françafrique
5. Thought Is Blood
6. War On The Palaces
7. Destroy The Man
8. 366
9. Servants Of Death
10. Useless Europeans

Elektra is the first song we’ve released in 17 years and the first song from our new album Freedom. Listen to it now on…

Posted by Refused on Monday, April 27, 2015

Our new album FREEDOM will be available via Epitaph Records end of June (release date varies by territory).Pre-order FREEDOM:

Posted by Refused on Monday, April 27, 2015

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more