The Dead Weather Return With Two Dark New Tracks

Musical supergroup The Dead Weather have released a new 7″ single titled Open Up (That’s Enough) as part of Jack White’s Third Man Records’ exclusive Vault subscription series. The band, which includes White himself (of The White Stripes fame), alongside The Kills’ Alison Mosshart, Queens of the Stone Age’s Dean Fertita and The Raconteurs’ Jack Lawrence, recently revealed a long-term plan for a new full-length release in 2015, so this track and its B-side Rough Detective act as a first taste. You can listen to both songs down below, before they may/may not be taken off of YouTube.

In October this year Third Man Records told fans, “These songs are not throw-aways. These songs are not demos. These songs are not outtakes.” They also outlined the band’s future plans, saying, “The Dead Weather’s plan is to record and release two-song sets until 2015 at which time they will release a full album that contains these singles plus many more album-only tracks. It’s a unique long-term plan for new music from this incendiary group.”

Both of these new tracks possess that dark and enthralling energy we’ve come to expect from The Dead Weather, with vocal duties being carried mostly by White on Rough Detective and Mosshart on Open Up (That’s Enough). The songs will also be released digitally once all Vault subscribers have received their vinyl copies.

Listen: The Dead Weather – Open Up (That’s Enough)

Listen: The Dead Weather – Rough Detective

(Via Rolling Stone)

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more