The Medics Snatch 3 2012 NIMA Awards; Gurrumul Wins Artist Of The Year Again

Cairns rock four-piece The Medics have taken out top honours at the 2012 National Indigenous Music Awards over the past weekend. Described as one of the country’s most exciting youth bands, it’s no suprise that they’ve picked up the New Talent of the Year award along with their debut album Foundations winning Album of the Year and single Griffin claiming Song of the Year.

But, Artist of the Year once again went to the country’s most well-regarded Indigenous musician, Gurrumul Yunupingu, who won it again for the second year in a row. Gurrumul’s collaboration Bayini with Sarah Blasko also claimed Cover Art of the Year, a second NIMA for artist/designer Carlo Santone from Blue King Brown.

Newly formed Arnhem Land band East Journey, who have been guided by the legendary Mandawuy Yunupingu from Yothu Yindi, took out two highly contested awards. The NT Film Clip of the Year for Ngarrpiya, which was filmed around their home country in Yirrkala. East Journey also picked up the prestigous G.R. Bururrawanga Memorial Award for outstanding contribution to the NT music industry, which was proudly presented to the band on the night by Mandawuy Yunupingnu.

Recognising a lifetime of achievement in the music industry, the 2012 NIMA Hall of Fame honoured the great Jimmy Little, who was posthumously awarded for his pioneering work as an Indigenous and country music star. Legendary Arnhem Land rock stars Sunrize Band and ever popular NT act Lajamanu Teenage Band were also inducted into the NIMA Hall of Fame.

View the full list on NIMA award winners below:

NIMA 2012 Winners

New Talent of the Year

The Medics

Song of the Year

Griffin – The Medics

Album of the Year

The Medics – Foundations

Artist of the Year

Gurrumul Yunupingu

Hall of Fame

Dr James Oswald ‘Jimmy’ Little

Sunrize Band

Lajamanu Teenage Band

NT Film Clip of the Year

Ngarrpiya – East Journey (Director/Producer: Naina Sen + Susan Marawili)

G.R. Bururrawanga Memorial Award

East Journey

NT Cover Art of the Year

Bayini – Gurrumul Yunupingu & Sarah Blasko (Artist/Designer: Carlo Santone)

Traditional Music Award of the Year

Song Peoples Sessions

Shellie Morris and the Borroloola Songwomen – Ngambala Wiji Li-Wunungu

Warren H Williams and the Warumungu Songmen – Winanjjara

NT School Band of the Year

NEAL Boys – Yirrkala CEC

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more