National Indigenous Music Awards
2022 National Indigenous Music Awards | Image: Supplied

Baker Boy, King Stingray Lead National Indigenous Music Awards Winners

The winners of the 2022 National Indigenous Music Awards have been announced. Hosted by Steven Oliver and held at the Darwin Amphitheatre on Saturday, 6th August, it was the first in-person edition of the event since 2019.

The biggest winner at NIMA 2022 was Baker Boy, who took out Artist Of The Year and Album Of The Year for his debut record, Gela. The award for New Talent Of the Year went to Jem Cassar-Daley, while King Stingray’s ‘Milkumana’ took out Song Of The Year, just one day after the release of their self-titled debut album.

King Stingray – ‘Milkumana’

Barkaa’s ‘King Brown’ was awarded Film Clip Of The Year. The clip was directed and produced by Sonder Films.

The Northern Territory community of Numbulwar took out Community Clip Of The Year thanks to ‘Loud & Proud’.

The awards night also paid tribute to two titans of Indigenous music who’re no longer with us. Late Yolŋu musician Gurrumul (Dr G. Yunupingu) was inducted into the NIMA Hall Of Fame following a performance by Gurrumul’s fellow Saltwater Band founder Manuel Dhurrkay.

Dobby was named the recipient of the Archie Roach Foundation Award, just one week after the award’s namesake passed away at the age of 66. The event included a heartfelt tribute to Roach, with the entirety of the NIMAs cast, including Emma Donovan, Fred Leone, Shellie Morris, Leah Flanagan, Birdz, and Yirrmal, combining to perform a rendition of his 2012 song, ‘We Won’t Cry’.

2022 National Indigenous Music Awards Winners

Artist Of The Year

Baker Boy

Album Of The Year

Baker Boy – Gela

New Talent Of The Year

Jem Cassar-Daley

Song Of The Year

King Stingray – ‘Milkumana’

Songwriters: Roy Kellaway / Gotjirringu Jerome Yunipingu

Film Clip Of The Year

Barkaa – ‘King Brown’

Directed & Produced by: Sonder Films

Executive Producer: Vyva Entertainment

Community Clip Of The Year

Numbulwar, NT – ‘Loud & Proud’

Directors & Producers: Indigenous Outreach Projects/Matthew Mastratisi /Franceska Fusha / Lesley Phillips/Jordan O’Davis

Numbulwar Community & School

Hall Of Fame


Archie Roach Foundation Award


Further Reading

The Veronicas, Baker Boy & More To Play The Melbourne Royal Show

Musicians and Public Figures Respond to the Death of Archie Roach

Arlo Parks, Confidence Man And More Announced For Darwin Festival 2022

Must Read