These 9 Albums Have Been Shortlisted For The 2016 Australian Music Prize

The shortlist of nominees for the 12th Australian Music Prize (AMP) have been announced, with nine albums selected from a record-breaking pool of 364 entries.

The AMP’s 16 judges already whittled the entries down to a longlist of 61 impressive albums, and now they’ve put forward the nine records they think are the most worthy of the $30,000 in AMP prize money.

Among the nine remaining nominees are albums by the likes of rap duo A.B. Original, reformed plunderphonics outfit The Avalanches, Melbourne rockers Camp Cope, singer-songwriter D.D Dumbo and psych outfit King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard. Catch the complete roster of shortlisted albums, below.

Speaking of Camp Cope’s nomination, the band’s Sarah Thompson says the nod has “blown their minds”.

“We spent one and a half days and $1,000 making this record, so to see where it’s come is just nuts. We’re so appreciative of everyone who’s supported it and us over the past 12 months.

“Being recognised by the judges and our peers is a huge honour. I have no idea how three scummy little punks fell into the realm of any sort of prize but we are stoked, and really appreciate it — thanks so much for including us!”

The 2015 AMP was won by singer-songwriter Courtney Barnett. The winner of the 2016 AMP will be announced on 8th March.

Watch: Camp Cope – ‘Done’

2016 Australian Music Prize Shortlist

A.B. Original — Reclaim Australia

The Avalanches — Wildflower

Big Scary — Animal

Camp Cope — Camp Cope

D.D Dumbo — Utopia Defeated

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard — Nonagon Infinity

Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds — Skeleton Tree

Olympia — Self Talk

The Peep Tempel — Joy

Must Read