Mo'Ju | Supplied

Shortlist Revealed for the 2023 Australian Music Prize: RVG, Mo’Ju, Polaris + More

The shortlist for this year’s Sound Merch Australian Music Prize (AMP) is here. Nine albums made it to the list, including the latest releases from Troye Sivan, Polaris and RVG. “It’s always an honour to be shortlisted for the AMP,” said Jen Cloher, who’s shortlisted for the third time. “To be honest it’s the only music award that I take seriously on this continent.”

The winner of the 19th AMP will be announced on Wednesday, 6th December. The shortlisted albums were selected from a pool of 450 eligible releases from Australian or Australia-based artists. Along with glory and publicity, the winner will receive thirty-thousand-dollars thanks to the award’s major sponsor, Sound Merch. Find the complete shortlist below.

RVG – ‘Midnight Sun’

Mo’Ju’s latest album, ORO, PLATA, MATA, made the list. The title translates from Spanish to “Gold, Silver, Death,” and is a reference to the Philippine war film of the same name. “Having your work recognised for its artistry, especially by your peers, really means a lot,” said Mo’Ju. “I’m so proud of what we did with this record and seeing it shortlisted for the AMP feels like such an incredible achievement and a real honour.”

Genesis Owusu won the 2021 AMP for his debut album, Smiling with No Teeth. His latest record, Struggler – winner of the ARIA Award for Album of the Year – is up for this year’s prize. Troye Sivan, another big winner at this year’s ARIAs, gets a nod for his third album, Something to Give Each Other. RVG’s third album, Brain Worms is also on the list, alongside Polaris’ third album, Fatalism, and the second albums by Angie McMahon and Floodlights.

Gretta Ray’s second album, Positive Spin, rounds out this year’s shortlist. “This album heavily focuses on the theme of gratitude, and after touring it throughout Australia and the UK over these past few months, being shortlisted for this prize has me feeling more grateful than ever,” said Ray.

Shortlist for the 19th Sound Merch Australian Music Prize

  • Angie McMahon – Light, Dark, Light Again
  • Floodlights – Painting Of My Time
  • Genesis Owusu – Struggler
  • Gretta Ray – Positive Spin
  • Jen Cloher – I Am The River, The River is Me
  • Mo’Ju – ORO, PLATA, MATA
  • Polaris – Fatalism
  • RVG – Brain Worms
  • Troye Sivan – Something to Give Each Other

Further Reading

Angie McMahon: “You Have to Experience All of the Things That the Chapters Hold for You”

Mike Shinoda Joined by Stand Atlantic, Polaris and Between You & Me for ‘Already Over’ Live Recording

All the Winners at the 2023 ARIA Awards – Genesis Owusu, Troye Sivan Dominate

Must Read