Image for EXCLUSIVE: Stream Rise Against’s Nirvana Cover ‘Sliver’ From Upcoming B-Sides Album

EXCLUSIVE: Stream Rise Against’s Nirvana Cover ‘Sliver’ From Upcoming B-Sides Album

Written by Mike Hohnen on August 12, 2013

Rise Against are releasing the ultimate possession for die-hard fans, a collection of B-sides and covers dating back to 2000 titled Long Forgotten Songs: B-Sides & Covers 2000 – 2013, and to mark the occasion we’ve got an exclusive stream of a track from the record – their take on the Nirvana classic Sliver.

Long Forgotten Songs is a collection of moments from the seminal punk rock outfit’s last 13 years, including their pre-Fat Wreck Chords days, where the band wrote songs which never made their way to a proper release. As their raw take on Sliver shows, many of the tracks are going to be rough-as-guts, straight-up punk chaos sure to put fans in a mild frenzy.

Speaking of the release, and the decision-making process behind which tracks made the cut, frontman Tim McIlrath says:

“The songs that really aren’t good enough, you’ll never hear. They never make it outside of our practice space. If we finish a song, bring it to the studio, write lyrics, and see it to fruition, then it becomes one of the children that make up a family of songs. If we weren’t proud of it, it would have been scrapped along the way.”

The album is sure to be somewhat of a gap buster for the band, who announced at the start of this year that they would be taking a break before they get cracking on the follow up to 2011’s Endgame.

You can check out the full tracklist for the record beneath the stream, and you can also watch a pretty interesting promo-reel for the album. Pre-orders for Long Forgotten Songs are available now.

Listen: Rise Against – Sliver (Nirvana cover)

[mf_audio stream=rise_against_-_silver.mp3]

Watch: Rise Against EPK – Long Forgotten Songs: C-Side

Long Forgotten Songs: B-Sides & Covers 2000 – 2013 Track List:

1. Historia Calamitatum
2. Death Blossoms
3. Elective Amnesia
4. Grammatizator
5. Blind
6. Everchanging
7. Generation Lost
8. Dirt and Roses
9. Ballad of Hollis Brown
10. Sight Unseen
11. Lanterns
12. Making Christmas
13. Join The Ranks
14. Built To Last
15. Voice of Dissent
16. Little Boxes
17. Give it All
18. Minor Threat
19. Obstructed View
20. But Tonight We Dance
21. Nervous Breakdown
22. Gethsemane
23. Boy’s No Good
24. Any Way You Want It
25. Sliver
26. The Ghost of Tom Joad

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"