Features

PREMIERE: Listen To ‘Dopamine’, The Debut Single From Melbourne’s TRYHARD

TRYHARD is the moniker of James Comito, a young artist from Melbourne whose debut single ‘Dopamine’ sees him break out on his own after a series of co-writes and collaborations with fellow emerging artists like Oh BoyMuki and Chris Watts.

A bubbly burst of deceptively effervescent pop in the vein of Charli XCX or The 1975, ‘Dopamine’ sees Comito interrogate his anxiety and tendency towards overthinking, preparing for things to fall apart even as they’re still happening.

“My mind has a weird way of bracing for the end of things,” the producer explains. “I’m constantly looking to the finish line and struggling to appreciate what’s often right in front of me. With ‘Dopamine’, I wanted to take back control and hold overthinking hostage in a sense, like it so often does me.”

‘Dopamine’ is the first of three singles Comito plans to release under the TRYHARD pseudonym this year, all centred around the notions of youthfulness and freedom the 22-year-old artist says he embodies. Each is the result of working with Mallrat and early Troye Sivan collaborator Ben Field.

Listen to ‘Dopamine’ below.

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more