Image: Facebook

Anthrax, Every Time I Die & Fall Out Boy Supergroup The Damned Things Tease New EP

It’s been all quiet on The Damned Things front for a few years now, but it appears that’s all about to change. The supergroup comprised of key members from Anthrax, Every Time I Die and Fall Out Boy are active once more and whittling away on a brand new release.

The news comes from one of the Fall Out Boy members within the band, Andy Hurley, who revealed in an interview on the ‘100 Words Or Less’ podcast (via The PRP) that new material is in the pipeline, however considering just how active everyone in the project is with their main creative vessels, there’s still a ways to go.

“I recorded five songs for an EP with The Damned Things – I don’t think we’ll be playing, Anthrax is still touring on their last record. Every Time I Die just put out their new record, uh, who else? Josh Newton I think has been playing lately. He tech’d for Joe for awhile, I’m not sure if he’ll be back when we’re back. So you know, that’s all over the place,” Hurley says.

Comprised of Every Time I Die vocalist Keith Buckley and former member Josh Newton, Anthrax’s Scott Ian, Volbeat’s Rob Caggiano and Hurley’s bandmate Joe Trohman, to say there are a lot of moving parts within The Damned Things would be an understatement.

That said, the band managed to pull it all together in the past. Back in 2010 (interestingly enough almost six years to the day and two years after forming) they released their debut full-length Ironiclast. The release was bookended with shows up until about 2012, before the aforementioned radio silence.

So, here’s hoping they can make magic happen twice.

Watch: The Damned Things – ‘We’ve Got A Situation Here’

Must Read