APRA Releases ‘Song Of The Year’ Shortlist

APRA has today revealed the shortlist of artists and their songs currently in the running to earn Song Of The Year. Voted in by their peers and fellow APRA members, the list of 30 artists is a representation of the best and brightest from this year in music.

Several icons of Australia music royalty have made the cut this year including Kasey Chambers, Angus Stone and Guy Sebastian, but the next wave has well and truly dominated – The Rubens, Tame Impala, Stonefield and Gotye all have tracks that made it into the APRA top 30, indicating a key interest in current talent.

The shortlist isn’t without its WTF moments, however. Out of all the artists featured, Rihanna would be of most renown. Though she isn’t Australia, Sia, who wrote her hit Diamonds is, so there is still a chance that the highly coveted award could go to a foreigner.

APRA CEO Brett Cottle is rightfully proud of the shortlist:

“The Top 30 shortlist for the 2013 APRA Song of the Year Award is impressive and illustrates the breadth of talent in this country across the genre spectrum…It’s a fantastic list of songwriters that includes up-and-comers like Flume who’s now selling out stadiums, hip hop champion 360 and country music stalwarts like Kasey Chambers and Shane Nicholson.”

Only APRA members can vote, and from here on in they hold the power to select the ultimate winner. Any singer/songwriter can sign up for free and if you haven’t already you really should get onto it. Not only will you get paid for performing your material, you’ll also go in the chance to win a Gibson guitar, MacBook Pro and tickets to the 2013 APRA Music Awards.

Check out all 30 nominees for the APRA Song Of The Year award below.

Adam And Eve (Written and performed by Kasey Chambers and Shane Nicholson)

Bad Reality (Written by Amy, Hannah, Sarah and Holly Findlay. Performed by Stonefield)

Beautiful Liar (Written and performed by Lyn Bowtell)

Bird On The Buffalo (Written and performed by Angus Stone)

Child (Written by Matthew Colwell and Kaelyn Behr. Performed by 360)

Clair de Lune (Written by Hugo Gruzman and James Lyell. Performed by Flight Facilities)

Diamonds (Written by Sia Furler, Benjamin Levin, Mikkel Eriksen and Tor Hermansen. Performed by Rihanna)

Drover’s Wife (Written by Luke O’Shea and Peter Gabrielides. Performed by Luke O’Shea)

Easy Way Out (Written by Wally De Backer. Performed by Gotye)

Elephant (Written by Kevin Parker and Jay Watson. Performed by Tame Impala)

Everyone’s Waiting (Written by Missy Higgins and Daniel Wilson. Performed by Missy Higgins)

Feels Like We Only Go Backwards (Written by Kevin Parker. Performed by Tame Impala)

Follow the Sun (Written and performed by Xavier Rudd)

Get Along (Written by Guy Sebastian and Ian Barter. Performed by Guy Sebastian)

History Eraser (Written and performed by Courtney Barnett)

Holding On (Written by Flume and O. Redding. Performed by Flume)

Home (Written and performed by Troy Cassar-Daley)

I Got Burned (Written by Lance Ferguson. Performed by The Bamboos)

My Gun (Written by Scott Baldwin, Izaac, Samuel and Elliott Margin and David Kahne. Performed by The Rubens)

Passerby (Written by Patrick Davern and Phil Jamieson. Performed by Grinspoon)

Save Me (Written by Wally De Backer. Performed by Gotye)

Set Me On Fire (Written by Missy Higgins, Butterfly Boucher and Daniel Wilson Performed by Missy Higgins)

The Quiet Life (Written and performed by Kasey Chambers and Shane Nicholson)

This Fire (Written by Adam Spark, Adam Weston, Ian Kenny, Glenn Sarangapany and Ian Berney. Performed by Birds of Tokyo)

Trembling Hands (Written by Tobias Dundas, Joseph Greer, Abby Mandagi and Lorenzo Sillitto. Performed by Temper Trap)

When The Moment Comes (Written by Mia Dyson, Erin Sidney and Patrick Cupples. Performed by Mia Dyson)

Wish You Were Here (Written by Delta Goodrem and Gary Clark. Performed by Delta Goodrem)

You Make Me Happy (Written by Clare Bowditch and Eddie Perfect. Performed by Clare Bowditch featuring Eddie Perfect)

Your Love (Written by Daniel McGorry. Performed by Saskwatch)

Youth in Trouble (Written by Julian Hamilton and Kim Moyes. Performed by The Presets)

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more