Image: Supplied

Architects Announce New Album ‘Holy Hell’, Unleash Monster Cut ‘Hereafter’

The Holy Hell era has begun.

After some mysterious teasers this week, Architects have returned with new music and a new album announcement!

The UK metalcore crew’s eighth studio album is dubbed Holy Hell and will land on Friday, 9th November. And to celebrate the announcement, the lads have gifted us with the disc’s first cut, a belter called ‘Hereafter’ which you can hear below.

If you don’t understand the magnitude of this release, Holy Hell marks Architects’ first album since the untimely passing of Tom Searle, the band’s founding guitarist, principal songwriter and twin brother to drummer, Dan.

“In those first months after Tom’s death, I didn’t deal with it at all and I felt so unhappy and anxious,” Dan confesses. “I’d ignored it and just tried to cope. But I knew that at some point, I had to learn from it.”

Vocalist Sam Carter adds: “It’s at times like that you ask yourself, ‘What is left?’ As a group of friends, we had to find something.”

“Ultimately, there were two choices,” Dan continues. “Feel sorry for yourself, and believe the world to be a horrible place and let it defeat you. Or let it inspire us to live the life that Tom would have wanted us to live. I was very worried about people taking away a despondent message from the album.

“I felt a level of responsibility to provide a light at the end of the tunnel for people who are going through terrible experiences.”

Dan and guitarist Josh Middleton co-produced the 11-track LP, which also features the band’s previously released emotionally-charged banger ‘Doomsday’.

“For me, broadly speaking Holy Hell is about pain: the way we process it, cope with it, and live with it,” Dan explains. “There is value in pain. It’s where we learn, it’s where we grow.”

You can pre-order Holy Hell here, or take new cut ‘Hereafter’ for a spin below.

In the meantime, we’ll keep our eyes peeled for any new Aussie tour news (sadly that bonkers Amity Affliction tour poster you may have seen kicking around turned out to be a big fat phoney).

Holy Hell Album Art

Holy Hell Track List

1. Death Is Not Defeat

2. Hereafter

3. Mortal After All

4. Holy Hell

5. Damnation

6. Royal Beggars

7. Modern Misery

8. Dying To Heal

9. The Seventh Circle

10. Doomsday

11. A Wasted Hymn

Must Read