Boy & Bear Announce New Album ‘Limit Of Love’, Release First Single ‘Walk The Wire’

Sydney’s very own Boy & Bear have announced their third studio album, Limit Of Love, will be released this October as the follow-up to 2013’s Harlequin Dream. What’s more, the five piece have released the album’s very first single, Walk The Wire.

Boy & Bear teamed up with producer Ethan Johns (known for his work with Ryan Adams, Kings of Leon and Kaiser Chiefs) at Peter Gabriel’s UK Real World Studio, to record Limit Of Love the old fashioned way — live and straight to tape.

“I was shitting myself,” says frontman Dave Hosking. “But it’s funny you know, what made it less intimidating was having someone like Ethan there, who is such an advocate for it.

“He put it on the table at our first meeting, that he’d be very keen to at least try going for it as a first approach. When we left the meeting we felt pretty good about it. We were up for the challenge.”

Limit Of Love also saw Boy & Bear write music as a collective for the first time, with most of the album’s tracks being fleshed out in the first half of 2015.

“From my end, that new writing method is quite liberating and exciting,” Hosking says. “It means I can still do what I love – sit in my living room and pick up a guitar and sort of purge, plus there’s now double the amount of songs coming in from the band, so we’re drawing from a wider pool.”

Walk The Wire, which received its live premiere at Splendour In The Grass in July, pairs guitars with a grooving synth backbone. The new track can be streamed via your choice of streaming service.

Limit Of Love will be released on 9th October in digital, CD and limited edition vinyl formats. Catch a behind-the-scenes look at the album’s creation, including snippets of brand new tracks, below, alongside the record’s tracklist and cover art.

Watch: Boy & Bear – Recording Limit Of Love

Gallery: Boy & Bear – Melbourne, Palais Theatre 03.09.14 / Photos: Alesha Martyn

Boy & Bear – Limit Of Love Artwork

boy and bear limit of love artwork supplied

Boy & Bear – Limit Of Love Tracklist

Limit of Love

Walk the Wire

Where’d You Go

Hollow Ground

Breakdown Slow


A Thousand Faces

Man Alone

Ghost 11

Just Dumb

Fox Hole

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more