Courtney Barnett Scores A Spot On Barack Obama’s New Summer Playlist

US President and music connoisseur Barak Obama has returned with another impressive presidential playlist, this time featuring the likes of Chance The Rapper, Prince, D’Angelo, Fiona Apple, New Zealand’s Gin Wigmore and Australia’s very own Courtney Barnett.

Sharing his new summer playlist on Twitter, Obama says, “Been waiting to drop this: summer playlist, the encore. What’s everybody listening to?”

POTUS’ latest summer jams, which you can stream in full below, are split into two separate playlists — ‘Songs For The Daytime’ and ‘Songs For The Nighttime’.

In the daytime, Obama is diggin’ Barnett’s Elevator Operator, as well as tracks like Leon Bridge’s Smooth Sailin’ and Gary Clark Jr.’s Don’t Owe You A Thang. In the evening, POTUS slows things down with a little bit of Miles Davis’ My Funny Valentine and Janet Jackson’s I Get Lonely.

Eminem’s Lose Yourself is nowhere to be seen on Obama’s summer playlist, even though POTUS used the song to pump himself up at the Democratic National Convention in Philadelphia recently.

Obama’s previous summer playlist featured tracks by the likes of Bob Dylan, Coldplay, Florence + The Machine, The Rolling Stones and John Legend.

Stream Barack Obama’s new summer playlist below, alongside reactions from some of the artists who were (and weren’t) included in his latest mix.

Barack Obama’s ‘Songs For The Daytime’

Barack Obama’s ‘Songs For The Nightime’

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more