D’Angelo Shares New Album Details, Streams First Single ‘Sugah Daddy’

To the delight of fans worldwide, neo-soul icon D’Angelo recently announced the arrival of his first new album in 14 years, Black Messiah, and the news just gets better with D’Angelo sharing the album’s first single Sugah Daddy amidst reports that the full album will be available digitally in the next few hours.

As previously reported, Black Messiah is debuting in full at a New York City listening session sponsored by Red Bull Music Academy and for those not lucky enough to be present, D’Angelo has provided sonic evidence of the new release in the form of its first single, Sugah Daddy. Listen to the funky jam below.

According to Rolling Stone, the track is only the second studio song released by D’Angelo since his 2000 album Voodoo. Live performances of Sugah Daddy reportedly date back to 2012, when D’Angelo’s long-awaited record was allegedly “99 percent” finished.

As reported by Pitchfork, a lyric pamphlet handed out during the album’s listening session reveals that the album spans 12 tracks and Q-Tip and Parliament Funkadelic’s Kendra Foster contributed lyrics, while Questlove, bassist Pino Palladino, and drummer James Gadson play on it.

Pitchfork also provide an image of the pamphlet featuring text of D’Angelo describing the meaning behind the album’s name, which he says can be easily misunderstood. “Many will think it’s about religion. Some will jump to a conclusion that I’m calling myself a Black Messiah,” he says. “For me the title is about all of us. It’s about the world. It’s about an idea we can all aspire to. We should all aspire to be a Black Messiah.”

According to an Instagram post by Questlove, Black Messiah will be on sale tonight at midnight on iTunes. It is not known whether that release time and date is applicable for Australia.

D’Angelo was recently in the country for the inaugural Soulfest festival. Listen to Sugah Daddy and see the album’s full tracklist below.

Listen: D’Angelo – Sugah Daddy

Black Messiah Tracklist

1. “Ain’t That Easy”
2. “1000 Deaths”
3. “The Charade”
4. “Sugah Daddy”
5. “Really Love”
6. “Back in the Future (Part I)”
7. “Till It’s Done (Tutu)”
8. “Prayer”
9. “Betray My Heart”
10. “The Door”
11. “Back in the Future (Part II)”
12. “Another Life”

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more