Daughter Announce New Album, Drop Heartbreaking Video For ‘Doing The Right Thing’

Daughter charmed the pants off everyone who saw them when they were down-under for Laneway Festival in 2014 so it should come as welcome news that they’re back with a new album on the way.

The follow-up to 2013’s If You Leave is called Not To Disappear and has been preceded by first single Doing The Right Thing. The haunting track has been delivered to us by way of a tear-inducing video that explores loss and subsequent grief poignantly.

“I have lost my children, I have lost my love,” sings frontwoman Elena Tonra so you can probably imagine just how sad the visual is for it.

Daughter asked film makers Iain Forsyth & Jane Pollard (who worked on Nick Cave’s 20,000 Days on Earth) to create three films for the album. They also asked author Stuart Evers to write three short stories based on the album. These music videos are visual depictions of those stories. Doing The Right Thing is the first of that trilogy and it centres around dementia.

Not To Disappear was recorded in Brooklyn with Nicolas Vernhes who’s worked on records with Deerhunter, The War On Drugs and Animal Collective. It’s a 10-track effort due for release on 15th January 2016 – one of the first LPs to look forward to next year.

Last month, the band told NME that this album would be “more extreme” than their debut. “We’ve played so many shows that our dynamic has become more extreme. The first album became rockier on stage, with the quieter bits getting quieter and the loud bits getting louder. We’re playing with that dynamic, because it gives us more possibilities, knowing that that side exists within us,” said guitarist Igor Haefeli.

Hopefully a new album means Australian tour dates on the horizon for this heartbreaking but lovely band. Check out the album art, tracklist and the video for Doing The Right Thing below.

Watch: Daughter – Doing The Right Thing

Not To Disappear album artwork:

Daughter Not To Disappear

Not To Disappear tracklist:

1. New Ways

2. Numbers

3. Doing The Right Thing

4. How

5. Mothers

6. Alone / With You

7. No Care

8. To Belong

9. Fossa

10. Made Of Stone

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more