De La Soul Release New Single ‘Trackwreck’, Announce New Album ‘And The Anonymous Nobody’

De La Soul have let loose an absolute jam that’s surely as smooth as a jam can get, titled Trainwreck. The tune is the first morsel from their forthcoming 8th studio album titled And The Anonymous Nobody (ATAN), their first new record in some time.

The album is the end result of an extensive period of sampling live sounds – 300 hours to be exact – including themselves. Earlier the hip hop greats gave forewarning that the album would be sample based and in a similar vain to their erstwhile release 3 Feet High and Rising.

Once they had the foundation, the trio busted out the rolodex, hitting up Damon Albarn, Usher, Snoop Dogg, 2Chainz, Jill Scott, David Byrne, Pete Rock, Estelle, Roc Marciano and Justin Hawkins from The Darkness to all feature.

The Long Island outfit were behind the second most successful Kickstarter campaign of all time, pulling in a cool $600k. In exchange, fans were gifted with a sneak peak of ATAN in the form of the 4-track EP For Your Pain and Suffering.

And The Anonymous Nobody, and all the wonders contained within, is out Friday, August 26th.

Listen: De La Soul – Trinkwreck

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more