Deerhunter To Release New Album ‘Monomania’ On 3rd May

American rockers Deerhunter have announced details of their forthcoming album Monomania, which will be released locally on 3rd May. The cover art is featured above.

In a pretty eye-raising press release, the album is described as a “Mystery disc of NOCTURNAL GARAGE. rat tapes / NEW FORMAT is avant garde(?) but only in context not form (original intent of avant garde (1912-59) / before logic: FOG MACHINE / LEATHER / NEON.”

The album is the fifth studio release from the band, and was recorded in Brooklyn, New York in January and February this year “via multiple 8Trax into MCI mixing desk” by frontman Bradford Cox and producer Nicolas Vernhes.

The presser also describes the band as a “MUSIC GROUP: formed 2001, AMENDED JAN. 2013” – in reference to Josh McKay replacing former band member Josh Fauver on bass.

Deerhunter last visited our shores in 2009 – so they are long overdue for a visit. Let’s hope they show local fans some love as they tour the record. The tracklisting for Monomania is below:

Deer Hunter – Monomania:

Neon Junkyard
Leather Jacket II
The Missing
Dream Captain
Blue Agent
Back To The Middle
Punk (La Vie Antérieure)

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more