First-Ever Australian Women In Music Award Winners Announced

The likes of Amy Shark, Ngaiire and Jen Cloher have taken home awards during the inaugural Australian Women In Music Awards (AWMA), which took place at the Brisbane Powerhouse on Wednesday night.

The new awards program aims to celebrate the contributions of women in Australia’s music industry, across various areas of the music business.

A total of 14 AWMAs were presented last night, after a Jury Council of industry professionals and practitioners decided which of this year’s AWMA finalists were the most worthy.

Jen Cloher claimed the Music Leadership Award for her “significant impact” on the industry, Amy Shark and Camp Cope tied for the Breakthrough Artist Award, while Ngaiire picked up the Artistic Excellence Award and singer-songwriter Gordi (Sophie Payten) won the Songwriter Award.

Music icon and ‘I Am Woman’ singer Helen Reddy also became the very first inductee into the AWMA honour roll for “her indelible contribution to the women’s movement”.

View the full list of this year’s winners, below.

“Women make up almost half of Australians with a music qualification and half of those studying music – yet only one-fifth of songwriters are women,” said Queensland Minister for Women, Di Farmer.

“Women hold only 28 per cent of senior and strategic roles in key industry associations, and female artists earn less in general than their male counterparts.

“I congratulate the Australian Women in Music Awards committee for their work towards encouraging more girls and women in to the music industry.”

2018 Australian Women In Music Awards Finalists & Winners

Songwriter Award

Recognises a female songwriter or composer who has made extraordinary impact nationally and/or internationally in the past 12 months.

Sarah Blasko

Gordi (Sophie Payten) — WINNER


Music Leadership Award

Recognises a female CEO, Managing Director, Label Manager, A&R Director, Artist Manager or Publisher making significant impact in music industry leadership.

Linda Bosidis

Jen Cloher — WINNER

Susan Heymann

Diversity in Music Award

Recognises individual artists or female-driven musical collaborations for their contribution to advancing a culturally diverse and inclusive music industry.

Mission Songs Project — WINNER

Rachel Maria Cox

3 Signal Creative

Studio Production Award

Recognises a female sound engineer or producer who has made contributions of outstanding significance in the studio recording environment.

Anna Laverty — WINNER

Kath Naunton

Becki Whitton

Music Photographer Award

Recognises a female music photographer currently working in the field and to acknowledge her body of work.

Lisa Businovski

Tashi Hall

Wendy McDougall — WINNER

Creative Leadership Award

A curatorial award recognising excellence in creative programming and/or content creation from a woman working in a music festival, live performance/venue or media setting to champion female artists.

Zoe Hauptmann — WINNER

Katie Noonan

Roz Pappalardo

Breakthrough Artist Award

Recognises a female artist who has had a significant breakthrough impact nationally in the past 12 months.


Stella Donnelly


Artistic Excellence Award

Recognises exceptional creative achievement from a female artist/musician across any genre.

Dalla Frasca

Gordi (Sophie Payten)

Ngaiire — WINNER

Film-maker Award

Recognises a female music videographer, clip-maker or film-maker currently working in the field and to acknowledge her body of work.

Gemma Lee

Ruth Morris

Claudia Sangiorgi Dalimore — WINNER

Live Production Award

Recognises a female working in a live production or touring environment making significant impact in her field: Includes Tour Management, Live Sound, Lighting, Backstage and Roadcrew.

Lynette Britten

Kait Hall

Robyn Jelleff — WINNER

Musical Excellence

Recognises exceptional musicianship from a female musician across any genre.

Fem Belling

Lydia Davies — WINNER

Nerida Tyson-Chew — WINNER

Educator Award

Recognises an individual who has made a significant and lasting contribution to the field of music education and/or to empowering Indigenous female artists in remote and regional communities.

Dr Anita Collins — WINNER

Louise Denson

Elizabeth Sellars

Auriel Andrew Memorial Award

Recognises a true pioneer of Aboriginal women in music.

Deborah Cheetham AOM — WINNER

Jessie Lloyd

Shellie Morris


Gina Williams

Lifetime Achievement Award

Presented to a female artist or musician who has made outstanding artistic contribution to the field of recording and/or live performance during her lifetime.

WINNERS: Renée Geyer, Patricia ‘Little Patty’ Amphlett, Margret RoadKnight

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more