The First-Ever Australian Women In Music Awards Finalists Are Here

UPDATE: First-Ever Australian Women In Music Award Winners Announced

ORIGINAL STORY: The likes of Amy Shark, Jen Cloher, Sarah Blasko and Gordi have been named as finalists in the Australian Women In Music Awards (AWMA), which will debut this October.

First announced in March, the event today announced its inaugural finalists, after beginning its public nominations process back in June.

The list of final nominees also includes the likes of Katie Noonan, Stella Donnelly, Ngaiire, Tiddas and Deobrah Cheetham, and features categories which recognise the contributions of women across the entire music industry, from artists to production professionals, music educators, photographers and cultural leaders.

In total, 14 AWMAs are up for grabs, and will be decided by “a specially-convened Jury Council comprised of industry professionals and practitioners of the highest calibre”.

View the full list of finalists below.

“This will be a very special celebration of women in Australian music, those who have come before and those who continue to light the way,” says AWMA Founding Director and Executive Producer, Vicki Gordon.

“We are overwhelmed with support which we continue to receive from artists, the music community and the broader creative sector all of whom agree that the time for change has come.

“We received nominations from every state and across all areas of diversity, the quality was exceptional with a broad representation from artists and music practitioners who operate outside the mainstream industry. It made the task of our jurors very tough.”

The first-ever Australian Women In Music Awards will take place in Brisbane on Wednesday, 10th October, and will feature performances by Kate Ceberano, Katie Noonan, Adalita, Lou Bennett (Tiddas), Sophie Koh, Kween G, Gordi Ancestress and Emily Wurramara. Australian band Do Re Mi — led by Deborah Conway and Helen Carter — will also perform together for the first time in 30 years.

The AWMAs will also host a two-day program at the Brisbane Powerhouse, with a series of free forums and panel discussions, a photographic exhibition, the Queensland premiere of the Her Sound – Her Story documentary and a keynote address from Kate Ceberano.

2018 Australian Women In Music Awards Finalists

Songwriter Award

Recognises a female songwriter or composer who has made extraordinary impact nationally and/or internationally in the past 12 months.

Sarah Blasko

Gordi (Sophie Payten)


Music Leadership Award

Recognises a female CEO, Managing Director, Label Manager, A&R Director, Artist Manager or Publisher making significant impact in music industry leadership.

Linda Bosidis

Jen Cloher

Susan Heymann

Diversity in Music Award

Recognises individual artists or female-driven musical collaborations for their contribution to advancing a culturally diverse and inclusive music industry.

Mission Songs Project

Rachel Maria Cox

3 Signal Creative

Studio Production Award

Recognises a female sound engineer or producer who has made contributions of outstanding significance in the studio recording environment.

Anna Laverty

Kath Naunton

Becki Whitton

Music Photographer Award

Recognises a female music photographer currently working in the field and to acknowledge her body of work.

Lisa Businovski

Tashi Hall

Wendy McDougall

Creative Leadership Award

A curatorial award recognising excellence in creative programming and/or content creation from a woman working in a music festival, live performance/venue or media setting to champion female artists.

Zoe Hauptmann

Katie Noonan

Roz Pappalardo

Breakthrough Artist Award

Recognises a female artist who has had a significant breakthrough impact nationally in the past 12 months.

Camp Cope

Stella Donnelly

Amy Shark

Artistic Excellence Award

Recognises exceptional creative achievement from a female artist/musician across any genre.

Dalla Frasca

Gordi (Sophie Payten)


Film-maker Award

Recognises a female music videographer, clip-maker or film-maker currently working in the field and to acknowledge her body of work.

Gemma Lee

Ruth Morris

Claudia Sangiorgi Dalimore

Live Production Award

Recognises a female working in a live production or touring environment making significant impact in her field: Includes Tour Management, Live Sound, Lighting, Backstage and Roadcrew.

Lynette Britten

Kait Hall

Robyn Jelleff

Musical Excellence

Recognises exceptional musicianship from a female musician across any genre.

Fem Belling

Lydia Davies

Nerida Tyson-Chew

Educator Award

Recognises an individual who has made a significant and lasting contribution to the field of music education and/or to empowering Indigenous female artists in remote and regional communities.

Dr Anita Collins

Louise Denson

Elizabeth Sellars

Auriel Andrew Memorial Award

Recognises a true pioneer of Aboriginal women in music.

Deborah Cheetham AOM

Jessie Lloyd

Shellie Morris


Gina Williams

Lifetime Achievement Award

Presented to a female artist or musician who has made outstanding artistic contribution to the field of recording and/or live performance during her lifetime.

Winner to be announced.

2018 Australian Women In Music Awards

Wednesday, 10th October

Brisbane Powerhouse Theatre, Brisbane

Registration & Tickets: Official Website

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more