Foo Fighter Nate Mendel Is Releasing A Solo Record, And It Sounds Great Already

Foo Fighters and ex-Sunny Day Real Estate bassist Nate Mendel has announced his debut solo album under the moniker Lieutenant, entitled If I Kill This Thing We’re All Going To Eat For A Week, which will be hitting our earholes in March.

The well-known bass dude has upgraded to frontman status courtesy of the brand-new solo project, where he’ll take on lead vocal and guitar duties. The Foo Fighter has given fans a sneak peek of what’s to come via brand-new tune Believe The Squalor (below, via Stereogum), a crooning, mid-tempo jam which has been sliced off the forthcoming nine-track disc.

The LP is also tipped to be a cameo-laden affair, featuring guest appearances from Helmet’s Page Hamilton, Modest Mouse’s Joe Plumber, the Head and the Heart’s Josiah Johnson, and Mendel’s old buddies Chris Shiflett (Foo Fighters) and Jeremy Enigk (Sunny Day Real Estate).

If I Kill This Thing We’re All Going To Eat For A Week is due out in Australia on March 13th via Cooking Vinyl.

Lieutenant – If I Kill This Thing We’re All Going to Eat for a Week Track Listing

1. ‘Belle Epoque’

2. ‘The Place You Wanna Go’

3. ‘Believe The Squalor’

4. ‘Rattled’

5. ‘Prepared Remarks’

6. ‘Some Remove’

7. ‘Sink Sand’

8. ‘Artificial Limbs’

9. ‘Lift The Sheet’

Must Read