Here’s Footage From Prophets Of Rage’s Very First Live Show

Footage has emerged of newly minted rock supergroup Prophets Of Rage — made of three Rage Against The Machine members, Cypress Hill’s B-Real and Public Enemy’s Chuck D and DJ Lord — playing their very first show together at legendary Los Angeles venue Whisky A Go Go.

Prophets Of Rage’s maiden live show saw the band perform tracks like Rage Against The Machine’s Testify, Guerilla Radio and Bulls On Parade, and Public Enemy tracks Miuzi Weighs A Ton and Prophets Of Rage, from which the band gets its name. The band is also understood to have performed two new songs, although footage of that is yet to surface.

According to CBS Los Angeles, Prophets Of Rage hired the company Yondr to help to keep the show as phone-free as possible, partly in order to prevent footage like that seen below from making its way onto the internet. Yondr essentially puts punters phones into special cases which only unlock after the gig has ended.

Prophets Of Rage announced their first concert on the day of the show, and are giving proceeds from the gig to the P.A.T.H. (People Assisting The Homeless) organisation.

According to Billboard, one of the band’s original songs is called The Party is Over, and was dedicated to Republican Presidential hopeful Donald Trump.

The only member of Rage Against The Machine not to feature in the supergroup is former frontman Zack de la Rocha, who is supposedly working on a solo album as we speak. That said, Chuck D reportedly used Prophets Of Rage’s debut show to tell the crowd, “There’s always a seat warm for Zack De La Rocha.”

Catch a bunch of footage, photos and the setlist from the Prophets Of Rage’s debut live show below, and stand by for the band’s second show, which is set to take place at The Hollywood Palladium this Friday, 3rd June.

Setlist: Prophets Of Rage @ Whisky A Go Go (Via Billboard):

Prophets of Rage (Public Enemy)

Guerilla Radio (Rage Against The Machine)

Bombtrack (RATM)

Miuzi Weighs A Ton (PE)

People of the Sun (RATM)

Rock Superstar (Cypress Hill)

Testify (RATM)

CH/PE Medley (“Shoot Em Up” > “Can’t Trust It” > “Insane In the Membrane” > “Bring The Noise” > “I Ain’t Going Out Like That” > “Welcome To The Terrordome”)

Sleep Now In The Fire (RATM)

New Song (probably called “Shut Them Down”)

Know Your Enemy (RATM)

The Party’s Over (Prophets of Rage)

No Sleep ‘Til Brooklyn/Fight The Power (Beastie Boys/Public Enemy)

Bulls On Parade (RATM)

Killing in The Name (RATM)

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more