Genesis Owusu Wins Big At The 2022 AIR Awards

Genesis Owusu has emerged as the big winner of the 2022 AIR Awards, taking home three awards at the Australian Independent Record Labels Association’s flagship event. The awards ceremony was held in Adelaide on Thursday, 4th August.

Hosted by Dylan Lewis and Jessica Braithwaite, the AIR Awards featured performances from a number of nominated artists, including Jesswar, Telenova, Teenage Joans, Jaguar Jonze, and Andrew Swift.

Genesis Owusu – ‘Gold Chains’

Genesis Owusu’s debut album, Smiling With No Teeth, was named Best Independent Hip Hop Album or EP and Independent Album of the Year. His song, ‘Smiling With No Teeth’, won Independent Song of the Year.

Emma Donovan & The Putbacks, Felicity Urquhart & Josh Cunningham, and Liz Stringer won the awards for Best Independent Soul/RNB Album, Best Country Album, and Best Blues and Roots Album or EP, respectively. Big Scary won Best Independent Pop Album for Daisy, while Courtney Barnett’s Things Take Time, Take Time received Best Independent Rock Album.

Flight Facilities, Shouse, Hiatus Kaiyote, Amyl and The Sniffers, and Wolf & Cub also received honours at the event, while Telenova were named Breakthrough Independent Artist of The Year and I OH YOU the Best Independent Label.

The late Warren Costello was honoured with the 2022 Outstanding Achievement Award, being recognised for his more than 30 years spent supporting independent artists and labels, including time spent as the managing director for Liberation Music.

2022 AIR Awards Winners

Best Independent Label

  • I OH YOU

Independent Album of The Year

  • Genesis Owusu – Smiling With No Teeth

Independent Song of The Year

  • Genesis Owusu – ‘Smiling With No Teeth’

Best Independent Soul/RNB Album Or EP

  • Emma Donovan & The Putbacks – Under These Streets

Best Independent Country Album Or EP

  • Felicity Urquhart & Josh Cunningham– The Song Club

Best Independent Blues and Roots Album Or EP

  • Liz Stringer – First Time Really Feeling

Best Independent Pop Album Or EP

  • Big Scary – Daisy

Best Independent Rock Album Or EP

  • Courtney Barnett – Things Take Time, Take Time

Best Independent Classical Album Or EP

  • Genevieve Lacey / Marshall Mcguire – Bower

2022 Outstanding Achievement Award – Sponsored by Merlin

  • Warren Costello

Breakthrough Independent Artist of The Year – Presented by PPCA

  • Telenova

Best Independent Hip Hop Album Or EP

  • Genesis Owusu – Smiling With No Teeth

Best Independent Dance or Electronica Album Or EP

  • Flight Facilities – FOREVER

Best Independent Dance, Electronica or Club Single

  • Shouse – ‘Love Tonight’ (David Guetta Remix)

Best Independent Jazz Album Or EP

  • Hiatus Kaiyote – Mood Valiant

Best Independent Punk Album Or EP

  • Amyl and The Sniffers – Comfort To Me

Best Independent Heavy Album Or EP

  • Wolf & Cub – Dusk at the Watagan Forest Motel

Best Independent Children’s Album Or EP

  • The Wiggles – Lullabies With Love

Further Reading

Genesis Owusu Returns With Heated New Single ‘GTFO’

The Kid LAROI, Genesis Owusu, Tones And I Among APRA Award Winners

Flume, Stormzy, G Flip And More Confirmed For Spilt Milk 2022

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more