Hear Previously Unreleased Prince Song ‘Deliverance’ Off Forthcoming EP Of All-New Material

UPDATE 20/04/17: The Prince Deliverance EP has been pulled from sale, following a lawsuit filed by Prince’s estate.

ORIGINAL STORY: Wow, has it really been a year since we lost Prince? I guess time flies even when you’re not having fun and trying your best to battle through one of the suckiest twelve month stints of celebrity deaths in living memory.

Anyway, Friday marks exactly one year since The Purple One’s tragic and mysterious death, and in honour of the occasion, the handlers of his Estate have cracked open the pop legend’s Paisley Park vault — you know, the one that houses literally thousands of unreleased Prince demos — and gifted us with a six-track EP dubbed Deliverance.

The title track of the fresh disc has already dropped. It’s a blazing electric guitar-laced gospel number that has Prince proclaiming, “This is not religion, but common sense,” and you can preview it via Facebook — or listen to the whole thing via Apple Music — below.

As The Fader reports, the other five tracks off the new EP were all recorded between n 2006 and 2008 and co-produced by Prince and m8 Ian Boxill.

Sadly, per Prince’s website, Deliverance will only be available in the US due to licensing laws (boo-urns!)

It drops this Friday, 21st April.

Deliverance EP:

1. Deliverance

2. I Am

3. Touch Me

4. Sunrise Sunset

5. No One Else

6. I Am (extended)

Screen Shot 2017-04-19 at 8.13.27 pm

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more