Here’s What Your New Triple J Brekkie Hosts Voted For In The Hottest 100

Matt and Alex have officially packed up at triple j and we’re getting ready to welcome new brekkie hosts Ben and Liam.

The pair have submitted their Hottest 100 votes for the year giving us a brief insight into what sort of music they vibe.

By the looks of it, they’re both hip-hop fans, with each of them picking rappers in their top spots.

Liam Stapleton chose T5 by Indian/Pakistani-American hip-hop group Swet Shop Boys as his number one song of the year.

“With ‘T5’, Swet-shop boys have produced a hip-hop track that covers off racial discrimination, Trump and Brexit, all in 2:53 mins,” he said about the track.

Meanwhile, Ben Harvey chose Mura Masa’s Love$ick which also features A$AP Rocky, a track he says was “instantly at the top” of his end of year list.

“Just to make sure I listened to it ten more times and it only cemented its place as my top track of 2016.”

Brook Boney and Dylan Alcott who are also set to make regular appearances on the show have also made the tough decision about their favourite song of the year.

Boney went with Beyoncé’s Freedom off her all-conquering record Lemonade while Alcott chose Skepta’s Konnichiwa.

So, given that every track chosen is by or features a rapper, we should expect plenty of hip-hop in the morning next year.

Yesterday, Allday, RÜFÜS, DMA’s, Ngaiire, Sarah Blasko, Jack Garrett, The Jezabels and Kuren revealed what they’re voting for in the countdown which will be revealed on 26th January.

Watch: Mura Masa – ‘Love$ick’ ft. A$AP Rocky

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more