Julia Jacklin Unveils New Single, ‘I Was Neon’

Julia Jacklin has edged closer to the release of her forthcoming third album, sharing new single ‘I Was Neon’ today.

Described by Julia as being a “rock song” at heart, ‘I Was Neon’ is a powerful and refreshing number from the artist, as well as one of her most resonant to date. As Julia explains, this likely comes due to the song having been in development since around the time she released her last record, 2019’s Crushing.

“I first wrote ‘I Was Neon’ for a band called Rattlesnack, a short-lived, much-loved 2019 side project that I played drums in,” Julia explains. “I rewrote it for my album in Montreal, during a time when I was desperately longing for a version of myself that I feared was gone forever. I was thinking of this song when I made the album cover, this song is the album cover really.”

Alongside the release of the track, ‘I Was Neon’ also comes with a self-directed video which juxtaposes footage of Julia performing the track with shots of her exploring the scenic nature of Melbourne’s north.

Julia’s new album, Pre Pleasure, is set for release on 26th August and was announced back in May alongside the release of first single, ‘Lydia Wears A Cross’. It too followed on from a number of non-album singles in recent years, including ‘To Perth, Before The Border Closes’ and a cover of Björk’s ‘Army Of Me’ with RVG.

Pre Pleasure is set for release 26th August.

Julia Jacklin – Pre Pleasure

  1. Lydia Wears A Cross
  2. Love, Try Not To Let Go
  3. Ignore Tenderness
  4. I Was Neon
  5. Too In Love To Die
  6. Less Of A Stranger
  7. Moviegoer
  8. Magic
  9. Be Careful With Yourself
  10. End Of A Friendship

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more