Image: King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard

King Gizzard Remix Album To Ft. DJ Shadow, Peaches, Flaming Lips & More

There are never many sleeps between the announcement of a new King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard album. The band’s next release is coming on Friday, 21st January and it’s the Melbourne band’s first remix project.

Titled Butterfly 3001, it’s a full-length reboot of the Gizz’s latest album, Butterfly 3000, which came out in June 2021. The 21-song release includes multiple versions of several Butterfly 3000 cuts, remixed by the likes of DJ Shadow, DāM-FunK, Confidence Man, Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith, the Flaming Lips and stacks more.

King Gizz have shared two teasers for the upcoming album: ‘Shanghai Dub’ by dub legend The Scientist and ‘Neu Butterfly 3000’, a remix of the title track handled by electroclash pioneer Peaches.

Take a look at the complete tracklist below. King Gizzard are playing five consecutive shows at Brisbane’s Princess Theatre beginning Sunday, 19th December.

King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard – Butterfly 3001

1. Black Hot Soup (DJ Shadow “My Own Reality” Re-Write)

2. Shanghai (Dub by The Scientist)

3. Shanghai (Deaton Chris Anthony Remix)

4. Dreams (Yu Su Instrumental Mix)

5. Blue Morpho (Donato Dozzy Remix)

6. Blue Morpho (VRIL Remix)

7. Blue Morpho (Ciel’s Fluttering Dub)

8. Blue Morpho (ZANDOLI II remix)

9. Catching Smoke (DāM-FunK Instrumental Re-Freak)

10. Ya Love (Flaming Lips’ Fascinating Haircut Re-Do)

11. Ya Love (Geneva Jacuzzi Remix)

12. Ya Love (Héctor Oaks playing w/ Fire Mix)

13. 2.02 Killer Year (Bullant’s Fuck Mike Love Remix)

14. Yours (Fred P Journey Mix)

15. Butterfly 3000 (Terry Tracksuit Remix)

16. Neu Butterfly 3000 (Peaches Remix)

17. Catching Smoke (4am Wack Rmx By Hieroglyphic Being)

18.Blue Morpho (Mall Grab Remix)

19. Dreams (Peaking Lights Trancedellic Macrodosing Mix)

20. Interior People (Confidence Man Remix)

21. Catching Smoke (Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith Remix)

Must Read