Koi Child Dominate The 2016 WA Music Awards

The 23rd annual WAMAwards went off at Perth’s Gate One Theatre overnight, with jazz-rap collective Koi Child taking a hefty four awards home out of their five nominations, nabbing Most Popular Act, Most Popular Music Video, Best Album and Best Urban Act.

Other multi-award winners included Abbe May, who took home Best Single and Best Female Vocalist; Daniel Susnjar Afro-Peruvian Jazz Group, who took out Best Jazz Act and Best Drummer/Percussionist; and POW Negro, who went home with Most Popular New and Most Popular Live Act. Rick Steele and The Triffids were also inducted into the legendary Hall of Fame.

Performances on the night came from the Abbe May Gospel Choir (featuring Joni Hogan and Odette Mercy), Grace Barbé, Hideous Sun Demon, Lucy Peach, Phil Walley-Stack and Psychedelic Porn Crumpets. An after party kicked on, of course, which featured performances from Soukouss Internationale and Mei Saraswati.

So now, WAMfest shall carry on the party through the weekend, with the very special Saturday Spectacular event this weekend, featuring acts who took home awards last night. It will span across 11 venues in Northbridge, and it’s totally free. More details are available on the WAMFest website.

Check out the full list of 2016 WA Music Award winners below, and the all the nominees right here.

Watch: Koi Child – ‘1-5-9’

WA Music Award 2016 Winners:



Best Blues / Roots Act – Old Blood

Best Country Act – Ruby Boots

Best Electronic Act (Live) – Slumberjack

Best Experimental Act – Eduardo Cossio

Best Folk Act – Lucy Peach

Best Indigenous Act – Gina Williams

Best Jazz Artist – Daniel Susnjar Afro-peruvian Jazz Group

Best Metal / Heavy Act – Voyager

Best Pop Act – Methyl Ethel

Best Punk / Hardcore Act – Scalphunter

Best Rock Act – Tired Lion

Best Urban Act – Koi Child & Mathas (Tied)

Best World Music Act – Grace Barbé

Best Album – Koi Child – ‘Koi Child’

Best EP – Verge Collection – ‘Open Plan Living’

Best Single – Abbe May – ‘Doomsday Clock’

Best Record Label – pilerats

Management Award – Jacob Snell

Media Award – Caitlin Nienaber (Rtrfm)

Golden Wami – Jacob Snell



Most Popular Act – Koi Child

Most Popular New Act – Pow Negro

Most Popular Live Act Pow Negro

Most Popular Music Video – Koi Child – 1-5-9

Most Popular Venue – Mojos Bar

Most Popular Music Event – Camp Doogs



Best Sound Engineer (Live) – James Newhouse

Best Sound Engineer (Studio) – Dave Parkin (Blackbird Sound Studio)

Best Record Producer – Joel Quartermain (Wastelands Studio)

Best Electronic Producer – Regan Mathews (Ta-ku)

Best Female Vocalist – Abbe May

Best Male Vocalist – Jacob Diamond

Best Guitarist – Benjamin Witt

Best Bassist – Vanessa Thornton (Jebediah / The Tommyhawks)

Best Drummer/percussionist – Daniel Susnjar (Daniel Susnjar Afro-peruvian Jazz Group)

Best Keys / Synth Artist – Timothy Nelson (Timothy Nelson & The Infidels / The Kill Devil Hills / High Horse)

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more