These Nine Albums Are Shortlisted For The 2017 Australian Music Prize

Nine significant Australian albums from 2017 have been shortlisted for the 13th Australian Music Prize (AMP), whose eventual winner will take home a cool $30,000 in prize money.

Among the year’s list of shortlisted albums — which you can see in full below — are some stunning albums from the likes of singer-songwriters Jen Cloher, Paul Kelly and Sampa The Great, as well as Angus Andrew’s experimental project Liars and electronic producer HTMLflowers.

“I can’t applaud the 19 judges of the 13th AMP enough,” says AMP Founder and Director Scott B Murphy.

“The volume of eligible releases skyrocketed by about 100 from 2016 to 2017 — that’s a lot of great Australian music they had to give up their time to ‘absorb’ and then produce this diverse, compelling list of nine. Please, discover and enjoy these albums.”

A.B. Original took home the 2016 AMP for their debut album Reclaim Australia, becoming the first Indigenous act to do so and creating some controversy in the process.

The winner of the 2017 AMP will be announced in Melbourne on Friday, 9th March. View all the shortlisted albums below.

2017 Australian Music Prize Shortlist

Beaches – ‘Second of Spring’

Darcy Baylis – ‘Intimacy & Isolation’

HTMLflowers – ‘Chrome Halo’

Jen Cloher – ‘Jen Cloher’

Jordan Rakei – ‘Wallflower’

Liars – ‘TFCF’

Paul Kelly – ‘Life is Fine’

Sampa The Great – ‘Birds and the BEE9’

The Vampires – ‘The Vampires Meet Lionel Loueke’

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more