Oz Hip Hop Awards Reveal 2012 Winners List

The winners of the 10th annual Oz Hip Hop Awards have been revealed, with Melbourne MC Seth Sentry sitting atop the throne for 2012 after taking out Best Male MC and Best Album behind his long-awaited and mightily rewarded debut album This Was Tomorrow.

Included in this year’s list is a brand-new category, Head Of State, representing those who work from within the scene to grow Australian hip hop but may not fit under traditional artist-based categories, with 8 titles distributed across each state and territory.

WA’s Layla proudly represented the Syllabolix Crew by taking out the Best Female MC for the SIXTH time – wowzers! Manaz Ill won perhaps the most credential worthy award by fighting his way to be the Best Battle MC after impressive showdowns against the likes of Greely and Jay Legend, as well as battling abroad.

Other winners include Hilltop Hoods for Best Film Clip behind Rattling The Keys To The Kingdom, M-Phazes took out Best Producer, while Hau from Koolism and triple j’s Hip Hop Show was awarded Head of State for NSW.

Check out the full list of winners below.

Oz Hip Hop Awards 2012 Winners

Best Male MC – Seth Sentry

Best Female MC – Layla

Best Battle MC – Manaz Ill

Best Cover Art – April 77 Creative for Obesecity 2

Best Album – Seth Sentry – This Was Tomorrow

Best Verse – Maundz on Agent 86 taken from his “Zero” LP

Best Crew – Golden Era

Best Producer – M-Phazes

Best Track – Maundz “Maundzilla” taken from his “Zero” LP

Best DJ – ADFU

Best Beat – “Won’t Stop” by Mdusu from K21’s Civil Minded Civilian LP

Best Filmclip – Rattling the Keys to the Kingdom by the Hilltop Hoods. Produced by Unity Sound and Visual.

Best EP – Verbill Self Titled EP

Best Free Release – Golden Era

Best Graffiti Artist – DVATE

Best Posse Track – Letters and Numbers by Maundz featuring Crate Cartel

Head of State WA – Rob Shaker

Head of State QLD – Tommy Illfigga

Head of State NSW – Hau

Head of State VIC – Robert Hunter Cup Team

Head of State SA – K21

Head of State TAS – Tommy Twotoes

Head of State NT – Sietta

Head of State ACT – Roshambo

Must Read