Philadelphia Grand Jury Announce Comeback Album, Drop First Single

It’s been six years since the release of Philadelphia Grand Jury‘s breakthrough first album Hope Is For Hopers and following a break-up, the band have reunited for a new record Summer Of Doom.

The Philly Jays broke-up after founders Bad Genius and Berkfinger had a bustup, but they bandaged things up eventually and returned for shows in 2013 and 2014. Now, they have dropped cold, hard proof that they’re back together in the form of the album’s first single Crashing & Burning Pt. II. It’s an immediate, high-energy return to form which picks up on the vivacious sound of their 2009 debut.

The boys wrote and recorded much of the material in Berlin with producer Tim Whitten who’s worked with Powderfinger, Hoodoo Gurus and Augie March. Most of the tracks were recorded live within 30 minutes and left mostly in their raw form with no digital manipulation.

Just before they broke-up the band were on the verge of releasing a second album. The single, acccording to the Philly Jays, is the only song on the new record that they kept from those original sessions. “We then re-recorded it in Berlin (at Berkfinger’s “Golden Retriever Studios”), jazzed it up a little, fixed the lyrics and it ended up being pretty banging,” they wrote on their Soundcloud.

The 12-track record is out 2nd October. Check out the tracklist, album art and first single below.

Listen: Philadelphia Grand Jury – Crashing & Burning Pt. II

Philadelphia Grand Jury – Summer Of Doom

1. Crashing And Burning pt II

2. Bit Of A Bummer

3. Get Happy Again

4. Chris Is In A Jam

5. Your Job Is A Waste Of Time

6. Better Send Someone

7. Spend More Time

8. Cake And Eat It Two

9. Seven Reasons

10. Sugar In My Diet

11. Good Time (Packed Up & Ready To Go)

12. Pull Some Strings

Must Read