PREMIERE: Birds Of Tokyo Unleash New ‘I’d Go With You Anywhere’ Video, Announce Compilation Album

Birds Of Tokyo have let fly a brand new music video for their latest single, I’d Go With You Anywhere.

The clip, helmed by prolific Aussie director Josh Logue (Daniel Johns, Empire Of The Sun), features frontman Ian Kenny strolling across breathtaking urban and natural Australian landscapes before (appropriately) having dealings with some actual birds (which may be, but most likely aren’t, Of Tokyo).

The song itself, a classic BoT-style emotive rock anthem, is the flagship single off the Perth boys’ latest musical release: a compilation album featuring all of their biggest singles.

Aptly dubbed Playlist… A Singles Collection, the 18-track disc gathers all of the band’s biggest hits from across their sizeable four-LP, three-EP discography together into one tasty bundle.

Guitarist Adam Spark explains that the idea for Playlist began last year when the band was based in the U.S.

“It was a bit weird”, he says. “After making music for ages we were suddenly doing interviews for the “new faces” sections of magazines again. We needed to give American music industry people a quick sense of what the band was all about so we created a playlist that had a couple of key tracks off each album.”

Bass player Ian Berney adds: “Obviously ‘Greatest Hits’ albums are pretty much a thing of the past because now we can all just create our own playlists if we want.

“Most people don’t even want to sit through one whole album these days let alone wading through five of them so at least this playlist puts all our most immediate songs in the one place and then if people hear it want to dig deeper, they can. There’s plenty more where this came from.”

Birds Of Tokyo’s Playlist is due out on Friday, 6th November, just in time for Chrissy.

And for rusted-on punters wondering when the band will be wheeling out some more new material, it doesn’t look like you’ll have to be waiting too long.

“We’re actually in the middle of recording about 30 new tracks”, reveals keyboardist, Glenn Sarangapany. “It’s still a bit early to know what shape the next release will take but it’s definitely going to be moving on from everything on Playlist.”

Australia’s biggest contemporary rock band will be spending the summer touring across Australia, with appearances as multiple music festivals including Falls and Southbound, Forbes’ Vanfest, Newcastle’s inaugural This That and Sydney’s spectacular Taronga Zoo.

Check out the breathtaking new music video for Birds Of Tokyo’s I’d Go With You Anywhere, alongside the full tracklisting for Playlist… A Singles Collection, below.

Watch: Birds Of Tokyo – I’d Go With You Anywhere

Playlist… A Singles Collection Tracklist:

1. I’d Go With You Anywhere

from “Playlist” 2015, premiered on Richard Kingsmill’s triple j show ‘2015’

2. Anchor

from “Anchor EP” 2015, certified Gold ARIA accreditation

3. Lanterns

from “March Fires” 2013, #1 Most played song of the year on Australian radio

4. This Fire

from “March Fires” 2013, # 1 on ARIA National Album Charts

5. When The Night Falls Quiet

from “March Fires” 2013, nominated for “Album of the Year” at ARIA Awards

6. Plans

from “Birds of Tokyo” 2010, Triple Platinum single

7. Circles

from “Birds of Tokyo” 2010, winner of “Best Rock Album” ARIA Award

8. Wild At Heart

from “Birds of Tokyo” 2010, APRA Award winner for “Rock Work of the Year”

9. The Saddest Thing I Know

from “Birds of Tokyo” 2010, platinum selling album

10. Broken Bones

from “Universes” 2008, #20 on JJJ Hottest 100

11. Silhouettic

from “Universes” 2008, #22 on JJJ Hottest 100

12. Wild Eyed Boy

from “Universes” 2008, J Award nominee for Best Rock Act

13. Medicine (Broken Strings version)

from “Day One” 2007, nominated for Best Rock Act at the 2008 AIR Awards

14. Wayside

from “Day One” 2007, nominated for Best Rock Act at the 2008 WAMi Awards

15. Black Sheets

from “Day One” 2007, iTunes Album of the Week

16. Off Kilter

from “Day One” 2007, spent 36 consecutive weeks in the top 10 of the AIR Independent Music Charts

17. Stay

Non-album single, winner of Rock Song of the Year at 2005 WAMi Awards

18. Puzzle

from “Anchor EP” 2015… The puzzle in my head keeps changing.

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more