Pretenders Release New Single ‘Holy Commotion’ From Forthcoming 11th Studio Album

After an eight-year hiatus, the legendary Pretenders are back with a brand new single and the revelation that an 11th studio album is on the way.

Their hot-off-the-press tune Holy Commotion is the first taste of the new LP, dubbed Alone, which is coming out through Liberator Music/BMG on October 21st. And the disc’s first track is heavy with 80’s synths, banging BV’s and quite possibly the poppiest hook we’ve heard from the group, ever.

The album was originally intended as a follow-up to frontwoman Chrissie Hynde’s 2014 solo LP Stockholm, but the righteous arrangements seemed more fitting to be pulled-under-the-wing Pretenders, and so – 36 years after their debut album – Alone is ready for release.

“This record is what I love the most – real people playing real music,” Hynde says in a statement.

There’s also some star cameos on the disc, which was recorded in Nashville.

Dan Auerbach of The Black Keys not only produced, but also played multiple instruments, while Tchad Blake (Arctic Monkeys, Peter Gabriel, Elvis Costello) mixed, and joining Chrissie and Dan were Johnny Cash’s former bass player Dave Roe and country guitarist Kenny Vaughan.

Check out the full track list – alongside brand new tune Holy Commotion! – below, and you can pre-order the entire new album here.

Listen: Pretenders – ‘Holy Commotion!’

Full track list for Alone:

1. Alone

2. Roadie Man

3. Gotta Wait

4. Never Be Together

5. Let’s Get Lost

6. Chord Lord

7. Blue Eyed Sky

8. The Man You Are

9. One More Day

10. I Hate Myself

11. Death Is Not Enough

12. Holy Commotion

Must Read