Record Roundup: Lune, Nick Mulvey, Ratking, Death Vessel

Today’s Record Roundup features four artists, each on their way to cementing themselves as one-of-a-kind artists in their respective genres, with a debut LP from Lune, a debut solo release from Nick Mulvey, the highly anticipated long-play from Ratking, and a new album from Death Vessel.

Lune – Music & Sports


That dreamy voice you first fell in love with on Adrian Lux’s acclaimed hit Teenage Crime has returned with her debut album, Music & Sports. Hailing from Sweden, her name is Linnea Martinsson but fans call her Lune and you can hear the first taste of her album, Made Of Steel.

The album is slated for release Monday, 10th March and is brimming with Lune’s ethereal vocals and the type of askew electronic production that music lovers have come to know the Scandinavian region for, cementing her as a star that shines brightest when on her own.

Watch: Lune – Made Of Steel

Nick Mulvey – First Mind

Putting himself through guitar school in Cuba, Briton Nick Mulvey rose to prominence as a member of the Mercury Prize nominated jazz collective Portico Quartet. Now Nick is gearing up to release his new solo album, First Mind, on 9th May 2014 through Caroline/Fiction Records.

The album was recorded by Dan Carey (Hot Chip, Steve Mason) in Streatham and serves as an illustration of Nick’s singular vision unfettered by committee, bringing together tracks that demonstrate his unique musical ability, which puts him at odds with his peers.


Watch: Nick Mulvey – Cucurucu

Ratking – So It Goes


NY’s Ratking are coming off a manic 2013, having played shows with everyone from the legendary GZA and the infamous Death Grips to the incendiary Trash Talk and the soulful King Krule, and now the boys are set to unveil their debut album, So It Goes, on 4th April.

Entering the studio with Young Guru (Jay-Z, The Diplomats, Notorious B.I.G.), the trio sought to combine the combustive power of their live performances with the soulful, righteous sounds of the golden-era hip-hop that they grew up on, instilled with a quintessentially NYC spirit.

Listen: Ratking – Canal

Death Vessel – Island Intervals

Sub Pop and Inertia have announced the release of Rhode Island folkster Death Vessel‘s new album, Island Intervals. The LP is the follow-up to his well-received 2008 label debut, Nothing Is Precious Enough for Us, and slated for release on Friday, 28th February.

The eight-track album was produced by Alex Somers (Julianna Barwick, Sigur Ros) in Iceland and features the singles Mercury Dime, Velvet Antlers, and Ilsa Drown, the latter featuring guest vocals from Sigur Ros frontman Jonsi, who co-wrote the album’s title track.


Listen: Death Vessel – Ilsa Drown

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more