The National Release New Album Details, Set For May Birthday

The National had already announced plans to follow up 2010’s High Violet but today we get the comforting news of a name, a track list and an official release date.

The National will celebrate the birth of their newest baby, Trouble Will Find Me, on Tuesday, 21st May. The album will bring the band up to a total of 6 full-lengths and comes at the end of a massive 22-month run of live shows, the biggest run the band has done to date, and with performances at venues such as Brooklyn’s renowned Barclays Center and a cheeky slot at Bonnaroo, it’s been a solid mission.

According to Rolling Stone, the band were in talks about taking a breather before entering the studio again but, as it turns out, the universe had other plans. In a statement, the band’s frontman Matt Berninger explained that the band began the recording process with a new state of mind:

“For the past 10 years we’d been chasing something, wanting to prove something,” Berninger said in a statement. “And this chase was about trying to disprove our own insecurities. After touring High Violet, I think we felt like we’d finally gotten there. Now we could relax – not in terms of our own expectations but we didn’t have to prove our identity any longer.”

As for how that impacted the final product, guitarist Aaron Dessner added that, “It’s free-wheeling again, the songs on one level are our most complex, and on another they’re our most simple and human. It just feels like we’ve embraced the chemistry we have.”

You can check out the full track list for Trouble Will Find Me below.

I Should Live in Salt


Don’t Swallow the Cap


Sea of Love


This Is the Last Time



I Need My Girl


Pink Rabbits

Hard to Find

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more