US Appeals Court Reinstates Man With $675,000 Illegal Download Fine

Joel Tenenbaum illegally downloaded 30 songs in 2009 and, after being caught, was ordered to pay a sum of $US22,500 for each song, totalling $US675,000. The fine was later reduced to $US67,500 after the court decided the sum was ‘unconstitutionally excessive’.

Tenenbaum was still unhappy with the result and appealed the verdict, trying to overturn the penalty in full. However, after the Recording Industry Association of America demanded that the full penalty of $US675,000 should stick, The US appeals court decided to reinstate it and have ordered him to pay the original amount in full.

In June, a 58 year old Scottish grandma was sentenced to 3 years probation for illegally downloading more than 30,000 music files.

The songs Joel Tenenbaum downloaded

Incubus – New Skin
Green Day – Minority
Outkast – Wheelz of Steel
Incubus – Pardon Me
Nirvana – Come As You Are
Green Day – When I Come Around
Green Day – Nice Guys Finish Last
Nirvana – Heart Shaped Box
Nine Inch Nails – The Perfect Drug
Blink-182 – Adam’s Song
Limp Bizkit – Rearranged
Limp Bizkit – Leech
Linkin Park – Crawling
Deftones – Be Quiet And Drive
The Fugees – Killing Me Softly
Red Hot Chili Peppers – Californication
Red Hot Chili Peppers – By The Way
Red Hot Chili Peppers – My Friends
Beck – Loser
Smashing Pumpkins – Bullet With Butterfly Wings
Eminem – My Name Is
Eminem – Drug Ballad
Eminem – Cleaning Out My Closet
Beastie Boys – (You Gotta) Fight for Your Right (To Party)
The Ramones – The KKK Took My Baby Away
Monster Magnet – Look To Your Orb For The Warning
Aerosmith – Pink
Outkast – Rosa Parks
Rage Against The Machine – Guerrilla Radio
Goo Goo Dolls – Iris
Aerosmith – Water Song/Janie’s Got A Gun

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more