Image for The Presets To Join Australian Chamber Orchestra For Vivid LIVE

The Presets To Join Australian Chamber Orchestra For Vivid LIVE

Written by Sarah Bella on December 2, 2013

What happens when you add beloved electro duo The Presets with violinist, composer and conductor Richard Tognetti and the Australian Chamber Orchestra? Timeline is what happens, a series of genre-bending gigs around the country from the unlikely collective.

The Presets will be joining Tognetti’s mind-blowing trip through 42,000 years of music, with Timeline taking place in Adelaide, Brisbane, Melbourne, Perth, Sydney and Wollongong next May and June, with the Syndey gigs taking place at the Opera House as past of Vivid LIVE 2014.

The dance duo are no strangers to classical music, with Julian Hamilton and Kim Moyes meeting while studying at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music. The pair are honoured to be asked to contribute to Timeline, saying, “While we have enjoyed recognition in the contemporary music sector, our influences and our musical background have always been very broad, and have informed the music we create to this day.”

Timeline will include music by Hildegard von Bingen, Gesualdo, Monteverdi, Vivaldi, Mozart, Bartók, Schoenberg, Reich, Jelly Roll Morton, Stravinsky, Ligeti, Miles Davis, Pink Floyd, Nirvana and Mariah Carey. Tickets are on sale from Thursday, 5th December.

Timeline featuring The Presets

Monday, 19th May
Wollongong Town Hall, Wollongong
Tix: Australian Chamber Orchestra

Tuesday, 20th May
City Recital Hall, Sydney
Tix: Australian Chamber Orchestra

Wednesday, 21st May
City Recital Hall, Sydney
Tix: Australian Chamber Orchestra

Friday, 23rd May
City Recital Hall, Sydney
Tix: Australian Chamber Orchestra

Saturday, 24th May
City Recital Hall, Sydney
Tix: Australian Chamber Orchestra

Sunday, 25th May
Sydney Opera House
Tix: Australian Chamber Orchestra

Monday, 26th May
QPAC Concert Hall, Brisbane
Tix: Australian Chamber Orchestra

Thursday, 29th May
Sydney Opera House
Tix: Australian Chamber Orchestra

Sunday, 1st June
Hamer Hall, Arts Centre, Melbourne
Tix: Australian Chamber Orchestra

Monday, 2nd June
Hamer Hall, Arts Centre, Melbourne
Tix: Australian Chamber Orchestra

Tuesday, 3rd June
Adelaide Town Hall, Adelaide
Tix: Australian Chamber Orchestra

Wednesday, 4th June
Concert Hall, Perth
Tix: Australian Chamber Orchestra

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"