Features

PREMIERE: COTERIE Weave Together Stories In Stunning ‘Salvation’ Video

When creating the accompanying video for latest single ‘Salvation’, Perth band COTERIE worked with director Maddy King to bring together separate snapshots of people pushed to their breaking point, ultimately creating a poignant backdrop to the slow-burning single.

From Queenstown and Glenorchy in New Zealand, to the Pinnacles Desert and Fremantle Prison in the band’s home state of Western Australia, to Sydney, the video for ‘Salvation’ was beautifully shot across cinematic, predominantly outdoors locations.

“I wanted to show that everyone encounters dark times in their life. Hardship, loneliness and sorrow will forever be an inescapable feature of the human condition,” explains King, known for her narrative-driven stories.

“The video had to touch on universally relatable emotions, we’re all equal and sometimes we all need saving.”

The band’s Tyler Fisher echoes King’s sentiments, commenting, “We wanted to try and show in the song and in the video that we are all subject to low points at times in our life. The video we hope creates a space for people to know, it’s ok to need saving sometimes.”

COTERIE are currently touring behind ‘Salvation’ with a series of residencies – they’ll wrap up one at Perth’s El Grotto on Wednesday, 26th February before spending much of April and May darting back and forth between Sydney and Melbourne.

Watch the video for ‘Salvation’ – and check remaining dates – below.

COTERIE ‘Salvation’ Tour 2020

Wednesday, 26th February

El Grotto, Perth

Thursday, 16th April

Waywards, Sydney

Friday, 17th April

The Penny Black, Melbourne

Sunday, 19th April

Tattersalls Hotel, Goulburn

Thursday, 23rd April

Waywards, Sydney

Friday, 24th April

The Penny Black, Melbourne

Sunday, 26th April

North Gong Hotel, Wollogong

Thursday, 30th April

Waywards, Sydney

Friday, 1st May

The Penny Black, Melbourne

Thursday, 7th May

Waywards, Sydney

Friday, 8th May

The Penny Black, Melbourne

Sunday, 10th May

Beach Road Hotel, Sydney

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more