The 2017 J Award Nominees Have Just Been Announced

UPDATE: The 2017 J-Award winners have now been announced

Triple j has revealed the full list of nominees for its 13th annual J Awards, with rap duo A.B. Original and Perth band Methyl Ethel leading the way.

A.B. Original members Briggs and Trials have been nominated for Australian Album Of The Year for their debut record Reclaim Australia, and their clip for ‘Report To The Mist’ is up for Australian Music Video Of The Year.

Meanwhile, Methyl Ethel are also up for Australian Album Of The Year for their latest full-length effort Everything Is Forgotten, while their video for ‘Ubu’ is nominated for Australian Music Video Of The Year.

Other prominent nominees in the coveted Album Of The Year category include the likes of Alex Lahey, Ali Barter, Gang Of Youths, The Smith Street Band and Thundamentals.

Last year’s J Awards saw singer-songwriter D.D Dumbo’s debut album Utopia Defeated take out the award for Australian Album Of The Year, while King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard were named Double J Artist Of The Year and Tash Sultana scored Unearthed Artist Of The Year.

The 2017 J Award winners — judged by the music teams and presenters at triple j, Double J and triple j Unearthed — will be announced on Thursday, 23rd November.

Catch the full list of nominees, below.

2017 J Award Nominees

triple j Australian Album of the Year

A.B. Original, Reclaim Australia
Alex Lahey, I Love You Like A Brother
Ali Barter, A Suitable Girl
Gang of Youths, Go Farther In Lightness
Gordi, Reservoir
Meg Mac, Low Blows
Methyl Ethel, Everything Is Forgotten
The Smith Street Band, More Scared Of You Than You Are Of Me
Thundamentals, Everyone We Know
Vera Blue, Perennial

Double J Artist of the Year

Dan Sultan
Jen Cloher
Kardajala Kirridarra
Lance Ferguson
Paul Kelly

Unearthed Artist of the Year

Alex The Astronaut
Baker Boy
Confidence Man
Ruby Fields
Stella Donnelly

Australian Music Video of the Year

Client Liaison ‘A Foreign Affair {Ft. Tina Arena}’, Director: Tim White
A.B. Original ‘Report To The Mist’, Director: Josh Davis & Heath Kerr
Kirin J Callinan ‘Big Enough {Ft. Alex Cameron, Molly Lewis & Jimmy Barnes}’, Director: Danny Cohen
Methyl Ethel ‘Ubu’, Director: PAXI
Jack River ‘Fool’s Gold’, Director: Matt Sav

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more