Australia’s 2017 Eurovision Contestant Has Been Announced

Australia has officially named 17-year-old Isaiah Firebrace as its entrant for the 2017 edition of Eurovision, finally putting to bed our predictions and far-fetched dreams of Shannon Noll or Kevin Parker flying the Aussie flag this year.

Following the footsteps of Guy Sebastian and Dami Im, Firebrace will be the third ever Australian representative in the competition, and will be looking to go one better than Dami’s second place in 2016.

Isaiah follows in the footsteps of the past entrants as winners of massive talent shows, as the winner of The X Factor Australia in 2016.

The Darwin-hailing teenager’s will perform a song called ‘Don’t Come Easy’, which was written by the same team that composed Dami Im’s ‘The Sound Of Silence’ for last year’s Eurovision.

UPDATE 7/03/17: Firebrace has since unveiled the official video for ‘Don’t Come Easy’.

Australia is set to have two entrants in the 2017 competition (sort of), with The Voice Australia winner Anja Nissen having already been selected to represent her home country of Denmark.

Eurovision will be broadcast between the 12th and 14th May on SBS.

Catch the video of Isaiah Firebrace being announced as Australia’s Eurovision contestant and performing ‘Don’t Come Easy’ below.

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more