Ben Folds Five New Record ‘The Sound Of The Life Of The Mind’ Out September

There are few as badass on the piano as the always-engaging Ben Folds, and now that the numerically incorrect trio Ben Folds Five is back together, fans have been hanging out for details on a new record. Well thanks to DIY we now know the tracklisting for The Sound of the Life of the Mind: the first record from Ben Folds Five in 13 years.

The Sound of the Life of the Mind is due for release on September 17, 2012 and was funded via PledgeMusic, with part of the proceeds going to the charity Music Education and Music Therapy. Looking through the tracklisting, fans will recognise single Do It Anyway, which was released unmastered and has been getting plenty of airplay on triple j.

Ben Folds said that Do It Anyway is a solid representation of the rest of The Sound of the Life of the Mind.

“The intensity of the track is typical of the rest of the album, but each song is quite different. That always was the way with our records I suppose. We’re nearly done and I think it’s a cracker,” Folds said.

Ben Folds Five will be performing in Australia as part of the second addition of Harvest Festival, taking place in November.

Ben Folds Five – 
The Sound of the Life of the Mind – Tracklisting:

01. Erase Me

02. Michael Praytor, Five Years Later

03. Sky High

04. The Sound Of The Life Of The Mind

05. On Being Frank

06. Draw A Crowd

07. Do It Anyway

08. Hold That Thought

09. Away When You Were Here

10. Thank You For Breaking My Heart

Listen: Ben Folds Five – Do It Anyway

Harvest Festival 2012 Dates

Melbourne – 11th November

Harvest Presents “The Gathering”, Melbourne, Werribee Park

Sydney – 17th November

Harvest – A Civilised Gathering, Sydney, Parramatta Park

Brisbane – 18th November

Harvest – A Civilised Gathering, Brisbane, Botanical Gardens

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more