Big Day Out Say Headliners Won’t Clash, Blur To Play Festival-Length Set

The cats behind Big Day Out 2014 have announced today that there will be no clashes between their major headlining acts, news that was met with a collective sigh of relief from thousands facing one of history’s greatest first-world problems.

BDO have tweeted that, out of key acts Major Lazer, Snoop Dogg, Blur, Pearl Jam and Arcade Fire, none will have major scheduling conflicts. Offering an example of how this will work, they say Pearl Jam will close the main Blue Stage just as Blur kick off on the new Love Stage, with Major Lazer leading directly into Snoop Dogg.

Another interesting tweety snippet revealed recently, this time via BDO CEO Adam Zammit, is that Blur will be playing a cut-down festival-length set, scheduled for 1hr 20min set. This is significantly shorter than Pearl Jam’s “epic” set, last week revealed to be a full concert-length two hours.

As per interviews held with key organisers last week, we also know that Grouplove and The Lumineers will be performing on the Love Stage which gives some hints as to the vibe you can expect over there.

Following this new info through to its natural conclusion – and presuming that Arcade Fire are also playing a main stage – this shows we’ll be seeing Major Lazer on Orange Stage (presuming it’s still around, of course), then Snoop on Blue Stage, followed by Arcade Fire on Orange and then back to Blue for PJ.

We can expect another drop of names to be added to the official bill in the not-too-distant future, with festival promoter Ken West estimating the line up to be capped at around 45 acts. In the meantime, check out all the latest on the already released names on this year’s Big Day Out bill below.

Big Day Out 2014 Lineup


Single day tickets – $185 + bf

Presale starts Thursday, 1st August through General Pants Co

Big Day Our Members Presale starts Friday, 2nd August through Big Day Out

General release tix on sale at the following times –

Gold Coast: 9am local time, Wednesday 7th August

Sydney x 2: 9am local time, Thursday 8th August

Melbourne, Adelaide & Perth: 9am local time, Friday 9th August

Dates and venues:

Friday, 17th January

Western Springs Stadium, Auckland

Sunday, 19th January

Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast

Friday, 24th January

Melbourne, Flemington Racecourse

Sunday, 26th January

Sydney, Sydney Showgrounds

Monday, 27th January

Sydney, Sydney Showgrounds

Friday, 31st January

Adelaide, Bonython Park

Sunday, 2nd February

Perth, Claremont Showgrounds

Must Read