Custom styles

Image for Björk Rush-Releases New Album ‘Vulnicura’ After Leak

Björk Rush-Releases New Album ‘Vulnicura’ After Leak

Written by Tom Williams on January 21, 2015

Critically acclaimed Icelandic musician Björk has released her new album Vulnicura roughly two months earlier than it was originally expected. Following a super-early leak of the album online, Björk’s label One Little Indian have set about releasing the singer’s ninth album on iTunes over a 24-hour period.

Björk revealed the existence of Vulnicura to the world only last week, as the follow-up to 2011’s multimedia project Biophilia. The album was said to be arriving in March 2015, but is now slowly making its way around the world. CD and vinyl versions of the album will see release in March, however.

Taking to Facebook, Björk has detailed Vulnicura as “a complete heartbreak album”, following the “emotional chronology” of a break up. “First I was worried it would be too self indulgent but then I felt it might make it even more universal,” Björk posted.

“And hopefully the songs could be a help, a crutch to others and prove how biological this process is: the wound and the healing of the wound. Psychologically and physically.”

Björk said electronic artist and producer Arca (real name Alejandro Ghersi) had approached her following the break up, and was interested in working with her. “It was perfect timing,” she said. Read Björk’s Facebook post in full, below.

Not only does Vulnicura feature the production chops of Arca, it also contains beats from dark ambient producer The Haxan Cloak (who also mixed the album) and vocals from Antony Hegarty (of Antony and the Johnsons fame) on the track Atom Dance.

At the time of writing, Vulnicura is not yet for sale in the Australian iTunes store, although it is expected to arrive online shortly. [UPDATE: The record can now be purchased from the AU iTunes store here.] View the album’s full tracklist, below.

Björk – Vulnicura Tracklist

1. Stonemilker
2. Lionsong
3. History of Touches
4. Black Lake
5. Family
6. Notget
7. Atom Dance [ft. Antony]
8. Mouth Mantra
9. Quicksand

Join Music Feeds on Facebook

Ingage unit

Monitoring string

monitoring_string = "5ddc797c5ea15f4a20f5b456893873a5"

Tracking script