Cut Copy Release New Single ‘Cold Water’, Announce Forthcoming Album

Aussie electronic veterans, Cut Copy have today released their second 2020 single. It’s called ‘Cold Water’ and it’s so lovely. The single comes with the announcement of their sixth studio album too.

The new single follows up ‘Love Is All We Share’ which saw the four-piece welcomed back after a three year break. The single is really intricate with these really contrasting kind of sounds layered over one another.

On the track, frontman, Dan Whitford says, “After extensive touring on our last album, ‘Cold Water’ was one of the first new songs to appear. I’d moved to Copenhagen and had been listening to a lot more ambient and instrumental electronic music and as a result ‘Cold Water’ felt quite different to songs we’d made in the past.

“It was less dance, but more atmospheric. Also the subject matter explores love in today’s context, where the climate and fate of the planet are becoming increasingly uncertain. Once we’d finished it, it felt like we’d placed a marker in the ground, guiding us in a new musical direction.”

The new album, Freeze, Melt is due out Friday, 21st August. Find the tracklisting below.

Cut Copy ‘Freeze, Melt’ Tracklisting

1. Cold Water

2. Like Breaking Glass

3. Love Is All We Share

4. Stop, Horizon

5. Running In The Grass

6. A Perfect Day

7. Rain

8. In Transit

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more