Danger Mouse and Black Thought Release ‘Aquamarine’ With Michael Kiwanuka

Danger Mouse and Black Thought (The Roots) have given us another taste of their forthcoming collaborative album Cheat Codes, releasing the new single ‘Aquamarine’. The woozy slice of hip-hop features a soulful hook from British vocalist Michael Kiwanuka.

Speaking about his involvement in the track, Kiwanuka said the music inspired him to write lyrics centred on the theme of courage. “When I heard the music I just had a feeling to sing about standing up for something that’s unique and following that path,” the singer explained in a statement. “I don’t know why but that’s what came out.”

Watch: Danger Mouse & Black Thought – ‘Aquamarine’ (feat Michael Kiwanuka)

Kiwanuka continued: “Sometimes when you’re following something that’s unique to you it’s as if ‘enemies are all around’. At times life can feel fragile like ‘everything’s burning down’. For some reason the chords and music made me feel that way.”

The single comes accompanied by a kaleidoscopic music video directed by UK creative duo UNCANNY, which you can check out above. Meanwhile, you can hear the full album Cheat Codes when it drops on Friday, 12th August.

In addition to Michael Kiwanuka, the record features the likes of A$AP Rocky, Run The Jewels, Kid Sister, MF DOOM, Joey Bada$$, Conway the Machine and more.

Further Reading

Danger Mouse & James Mercer Revive Broken Bells, Release New Single

Malik B., Rapper And Founding Roots Member, Dead At 47

New Report Claims “Hundreds Of Thousands” Of Master Tapes Were Destroyed In A 2008 Universal Studios Fire

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more