Danny Brown Says System Of A Down Helped Inspire His New Album

Danny Brown’s forthcoming studio album is shaping up to be a fairly loaded affair. Already, the rapper has tipped his hat to the likes of Joy Division as a muse for the record, but now he’s name-checked prog-metal juggernauts System Of A Down as another source of inspiration for the record. He’s also revealed the artists who feature on the album.

In an interview with Rolling Stone, Brown details the album (titled Atrocity Exhibition) and tags SOAD alongside the Björk, Raekwon, Talking Heads and Joy Division as having key roles in the formation of the record.

Artists which inspired the album are just page one of Atrocity Exhibition. Brown managed to enlist an eye-watering ensemble of guest stars to actually feature on the album. The incandescent Kelela; an O.G of the game, Cypress Hill’s B-Real; and the man of the moment, Kendrick Lamar. No one will be getting in Brown’s way, though. “I’m pretty much the main star of this show, as always,” he says.

Despite aiming high, Brown is confident, nay, adamant that the record will be everything he set out to make.

“[I’m] somebody that’s able to sit down and be able to take my time, ’cause aint nobody gonna be out here sounding like me, ain’t nobody gonna be out here doing what I do. I’m confident in this project to know that I’mma satisfy the people that’s already fans of my music. So, if you’re a fan of Danny Brown, you in for a treat,” he says.

Atrocity Exhibition is Brown’s first album since 2013’s Old, and has a street date of Friday, 30th September. Catch its tracklist and official artwork, below.

Meanwhile, earlier this year news broke that System Of A Down have been working on new material, but it’s unclear if any of it is influenced by Danny Brown.

Watch: Danny Brown – ‘When It Rain’

Danny Brown – ‘Atrocity Exhibition’ Cover Art

danny brown atrocity exhibition album art source official facebook

Danny Brown – ‘Atrocity Exhibition’ Tracklist

1. “Downward Spiral”

2. “Tell Me What I Don’t Know”

3. “Rolling Stone” (featuring Petite Noir)

4. “Really Doe” (featuring Kendrick Lamar, Ab-Soul & Earl Sweatshirt)

5. “Lost”

6. “Ain’t It Funny”

7. “Goldust”

8. “White Lines”

9. “Pneumonia”

10. “Dance In The Water”

11. “From The Ground” (featuring Kelela)

12. “When It Rain”

13. “Today”

14. “Get Hi” (featuring B-Real)

15. “Hell For It”

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more