Foo Fighters, Alice In Chains & More To Feature On Reissue Of Rush’s 1976 Album ‘2112’

Rush are set to reissue a special 40th anniversary edition of their seminal 1976 album 2112, and the album is set to feature covers by Dave Grohl and Taylor Hawkins of Foo Fighters, as well as Alice In Chains, Steve Wilson, and more.

We heard last year that Rush in its current form was unlikely to ever tour Australia, but the reissue of 2112 will soften the blow for many – with Rush’s official website revealing the LP will also feature previously unheard material, as well as rare live material.

Grohl joins Hawkins on a cover of Overture, while Alice In Chains have contributed a cover of Tears.

It might not come as a huge surprise that Foo Fighters members Grohl and Hawkins are set to feature on the LP, with the two well-known long time fans of Rush – having dressed up as the Canadian band in 2013 to induct them into the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame.

You can check out the full track-listing below.

2112 – 40th will be released on Friday, 16th December 2016.

Watch: Rush – ‘Tom Sawyer’ (R40 Live Tour)

Rush ‘2112-40th’ Tracklisting

Disc 1: Original Album Newly Remastered by Abbey Road Studios


I. Overture

II. The Temples of Syrinx

III. Discovery

IV. Presentation

V. Oracle: The Dream

VI. Soliloquy

VII. Grand Finale

2. A Passage to Bangkok

3. The Twilight Zone

4. Lessons

5. Tears

6. Something for Nothing

Disc 2

1. Solar Federation

2. Dave Grohl, Taylor Hawkins and Nick Raskulinecz – Overture

3. Billy Talent – A Passage to Bangkok

4. Steven Wilson – The Twilight Zone

5. Alice In Chains – Tears

6. Jacob Moon – Something for Nothing

7. 2112 – Live at Massey Hall 1976 Outtake

8. Something for Nothing – Live at Massey Hall 1976 Outtake

9. The Twilight Zone – Live 1977 Contraband

10. 2112 1976 Radio Ad

DVD: Live at Capitol Theatre 1976

1. Bastille Day

2. Anthem

3. Lakeside Park

4. 2112

5. Fly by Night

6. In the Mood

Bonus Videos

Overture: Dave Grohl, Taylor Hawkins and Nick Raskulinecz

A Passage to Bangkok: Behind the Scenes with Billy Talent

2112 – 40 Years Closer: A Q&A with Alex Lifeson and Terry Brown

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more