Gossling, World’s End Press & More Close Out The 9th Coopers AMP Longlist

The organisers of the 9th Coopers AMP have added the final touches to their 2014 longlist, including releases by Gossling, World’s End Press, The Trouble With Templeton, and seven more, bringing the longlist up to a total of 43.

This group of 10 go in the running alongside the 33 already announced artists to compete for the $30,000 prize courtesy of PPCA. Previous AMP winners include The Drones in 2005 for Wait Long By The River And The Bodies of You Enemies Will Float By and Augie March for Moo, You Bloody Choir in 2006.

Last week the AMP judging panel announced their inaugural list of 25 Highly Regarded albums, releases that didn’t make the longlist but that the panel deemed worthy of recognition. That list includes Circus In The Sky by Bliss N Eso, Atlas by Rufus and Ngaiire‘s Lamentations. You can see the full list below.

The nine shortlisted candidates will be announced on Australia Day at Melbourne’s Sidney Myer Music Bowl as a part of the official Shortlisted! event from 6-8pm. The free event will host performances by a select group of artists, headlined by last year’s winner Hermitude.

The Final Ten Coopers AMP Longlisted Artists And Their Albums

Ainslie Wills – You Go Your Way, I’ll Go Mine

Dog Trumpet – Medicated Spirits

Gossling – Harvest Of Gold

High Highs – Open Season

Melanie Horsnell – The Cloud Appreciation Society

Montero – The Loving Gaze

Sara Storer – Lovegrass

Songs – Malabar

The Trouble With Templeton – Rookie

World’s End Press – World’s End Press


Adalita – All Day Venus

Cloud Control – Dream Cave

Palms – Step Brothers

Boy & Bear – Harlequin Dream

Fluent Form – Flu Season

Jagwar Ma – Howlin’

Josh Pyke – The Beginning And The End Of Everything

Machine Translations – The Bright Door

Paul Kelly, James Ledger, Genevieve Lacey & ANAMlly – Conversations With Ghosts

Heath Cullen – The Still And The Steep

Jimblah – Phoenix

Jimmy Tait – Golden

New Gods – Beloved

Ross McClennan – The Night Deeds Are Vapour

Brighter Later – The Wolves

Sam Buckingham – I’m A Bird

Luke Howard – Sun, Cloud

Pikelet – Calluses

Horrorshow – King Amongst Many

Dick Diver – Calendar Days

The Tongue – Surrender To Victory

The Delta Riggs – Hex Lover Killer

Standish/Carlyon – Deleted Scenes

PVT – Homosapien

Jen Cloher – In Blood Memory

Beaches – She Beats

Kirin J. Callinan – Embracism

The Drones – I See Seaweed

Bob Evans – Familiar Stranger

Abbe May – Kiss My Apocalypse

Big Scary – Not Art

Dialectrix – The Cold Light Of Day

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Push The Sky Away

The 2013 Coopers AMP Highly Regarded List

Alex Hahn & The Blue Riders – The Wallflower

Bliss N Eso – Circus In The Sky

Cash Savage & The Last Drinks – The Hypnotiser

Crystal Mercy – The Fisherman’s Daughter

Deborah Conway & Willy Zygier – Stories Of Ghosts

Emma Louise – Vs. Head Vs. Heart

The Grapes – Western Sun

Hungry Kids Of Hungary – You’re A Shadow

Jinja Safari – Jinja Safari

King Gizzard & The Wizard Lizard – Float Along – Fill Your Lungs

Major Chord – Transition

Mantra – Telling Scenes

Melody Pool – The Hurting Scene

Mr. Grevis – My Escape

Monique diMattina – Nola’s Ark

Ngaire – Lamentations

RÜFÜS – Atlas

Seja – All Our Wires

Snakadaktal – Sleep In The Water

Sticky Fingers – Caress Your Soul

Stolen Violin – Temperate Touch, Tropical Tears

Suburban Dark – Second Front

Sweet Jean – Dear Departure

Underground Lovers – Weekend

Unity Floors – Exotic Goldfish Blues

Must Read