The 9th Coopers AMP Full Shortlist Announced

The full shortlist for The 9th Coopers AMP has now been officially announced, seeing names like Beaches, Big Scary, Cloud Control, Horrorshow, Jagwar Ma, and Kirin J Callinan beat out the likes of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, The Drones, Boy & Bear, and The Delta Riggs.

The nine names, which were culled from a longlist of 43 by a judging panel that spent hours listening to all of the eligible albums in every genre of music, were announced at the 9th Coopers AMP Shortlisted! event, which was held at Melbourne’s Sidney Myer Music Bowl earlier this evening.

Several of the artists who appear on the shortlist performed at the event, including Kirin J Callinan, who is nominated for his acclaimed debut full-length, Embracism, as well as Melbourne’s own Beaches, who are nominated for She Beats, and Dialectrix, nominated for The Cold Light Of Day.

Readers can check out the full shortlist below. The winner of the 9th Coopers Australian Music Prize will be announced in March and will be awarded $30,000 courtesy of PPCA. Previous winners include Augie March for Moo, You Bloody Choir in 2006, and Lisa Mitchell for her 2009 LP, Wonder.

The 9th Coopers AMP Shortlisted Albums

Beaches – She Beats

Big Scary – Not Art

Cloud Control – Dream Cave

Dialectrix – The Cold Light Of Day

Horrorshow – King Amongst Many

Jagwar Ma – Howlin’

Jen Cloher – In Blood Memory

Jimblah – Phoenix

Kirin J Callinan – Embracism

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more