Fourteen More Artists Join The 9th Coopers AMP Longlist

The organisers of The 9th Coopers AMP have added fourteen more albums to their 2014 longlist, including releases by Cloud Control, Adalita, Jagwar Ma, Boy & Bear, Josh Pyke and many more, bringing the total longlist up to 33. The shortlist is expected to be announced on Australia Day.

As members of The 9th Coopers AMP longlist, these artists are now in the running to receive a prize of $30,000. Previous winners of the competition include Augie March for Moo, You Bloody Choir in 2006, and Eddy Current Suppression Ring, who won for Primary Colours in 2008.

“It’s really cool that this li’l album we made in our friend’s kitchen has caught the attention of Australian Music Industry Professionals. We’ve already bought dune buggies to celebrate our inevitable victory. Not sure what the return policy on those things is,” said Alex Grigg of The Palms.

There is still one last group of artists to be announced for the longlist, before a top nine are selected and revealed on Australia Day. The winner of The 9th Coopers AMP will then be announced and awarded the $30,000, courtesy of PPCA, in March.

The AMP was established to increase the profile of all artists involved, offering them opportunities for online exposure and organising events for all artists both shortlisted and longlisted. These new additions join albums by Nick Cave, The Delta Riggs, The Drones, and Bob Evans.

Readers can see the list of new additions, below.

The 9th Coopers AMP New Additions

All Day Venus

Cloud Control
Dream Cave

The Palms
Step Brothers

Boy & Bear
Harlequin Dream

Fluent Form
Flu Season

Jagwar Ma

Josh Pyke
The Beginning And The End Of Everything

Machine Translations
The Bright Door

Paul Kelly, James Ledger, Genevieve Lacey and ANAMlly
Conversations With Ghosts

Heath Cullen
The Still And The Steep


Jimmy Tait

New Gods

Ross McClennan
The Night Deeds Are Vapour

Latest on Music Feeds

Load more