Photos: Jamie Wdziekonski, Bec Parsons, Grant Spanier

Here Are All The 2021 J Award Nominations

It’s that time of the year again. triple j has announced the nominees for this year’s J Awards, celebrating the artists that have made significant contributions to Australian music over the past year.

Records up for Album of the Year include Amyl and the Sniffers‘ ripping second LP Comfort to Me and Genesis Owusu‘s incredible debut Smiling with No Teeth, while the likes of The Avalanches, Hiatus Kaiyote and Ngaiire are up for Australian Artist of the Year.

Meanwhile, Unearthed Artist of the Year nominees include rising stars Hope D, King Stingray and Teenage Joans. The Done Good Award returns again this year, and nominees include Jack River (for sparking the Our Soundtrack Our Stories movement), Jaguar Jonze (for her fierce advocacy for survivors of abuse in the Australian music industry) and Digi Youth Arts (for launching the inaugural BLAKSOUND conference earlier this year.)

See the full list of nominations below. Winners will be revealed throughout the day on Thursday, 18th November on triple j, triple j Unearthed and Double J. The announcement helps kick off triple j’s Ausmusic Month festivities for this year, which will also include the NIMAs on Sunday, 14th November on triple j’s Blak Out, Ausmusic T-Shirt Day on Friday, 19th November, Australian music specials on Double J and more.

triple j 2021 J Award nominations

triple j Australian Album of the Year

Amyl and the Sniffers – Comfort to Me

The Avalanches – We Will Always Love You

Baker Boy – Gela

Genesis Owusu – Smiling with No Teeth

Gretta Ray – Begin to Look Around

Holy Holy – Hello My Beautiful World

Middle Kids – Today We’re the Greatest

Ruby Fields – Been Doin’ It for a Bit

RÜFÜS DU SOL – Surrender

Tones and I – Welcome to the Madhouse

Unearthed Artist of the Year



Hope D

King Stingray

Teenage Joans

Double J Australian Artist of the Year

Amyl and the Sniffers

The Avalanches

Emma Donovan & the Putbacks

Hiatus Kaiyote


triple j and RAGE Australian Music Video of the Year

Genesis Owusu – ‘The Other Black Dog’ Dir. Riley Blakeway

Jerome Farah – ‘Concrete Jungle Fever’ Dir. Sanjay De Silva

King Stingray – ‘Milkumana’ Dir. King Stingray and Sam Brumby

Triple One – ‘BLOOD RAVE’ Dir. Serwah Attafuah

Ziggy Ramo – ‘Little Things [Ft. Paul Kelly]’ Dir. Ziggy Ramo

Done Good Award

Concrete Surfers: booking gigs at local footy games to prove a point

Digi Youth Arts: launching the inaugural BLAKSOUND music conference

Jack River: sparking the Our Soundtrack Our Stories movement

Jaguar Jonze: advocating for systemic change and the support of abuse victims in the Australian music industry

Support Act: mental health services and COVID relief for the Australian music industry

Must Read